Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

The Trouble with Kids today

11.07.03 @ 22:51
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Just when you think your ready to see if Ebay has any rules against auctioning off your ten-year old, he goes and does something totally sweet, make that two somethings totally sweet, that remind you why you love him so much.

After being totally back to normal Thursday evening my son fell asleep by 8:30 which is a bit unusual for him. But it meant he was up by 6am, and in such a good mood that he announced to me "Mom I'm going to go make us some breakfast, can you get up when I'm done". I was expecting cereal, or toast or something. But I was wrong, while a bit on the messy side, my son is becoming something of a good chef. Breakfast was scrambled eggs with ham and mushrooms, served with a side of toast and jelly. While he made a bit much (I don't normally eat four eggs at once), I loved it. It was great, not just for a ten year old great, but for anyone great. This isn't the first time he has made anything, but it is the first time he made something without me helping him. Of course afterwards I wanted to go laydown again, since It was only 6:20am and I didnt' need to be at work until 9am. But of course, after a bit Warren was doing everything he could to get me up and going. He was ready to go. The real kicker though.. while I was in the shower, the little stinker fell asleep in my bed.

It was the next thing he told me that reaffirmed how proud I am to have him as my son, and that I have been doing something right in raising him. Last week he didnt' get to mow the lawn he has been doing everyweek, because he didnt' feel well Thursday night, and then he had to leave Friday before he had a chance (and I forgot to remind him), since I had to work Friday, Sat and Sun (and Fri was a holiday so no daycare). This week he hasn't had a chance because he was down with a nasty case of Strep. So on the way to S/S he told me, that he was doing this week for free to make up for it, and appologize. Now how many ten year olds would be gratious enough to come up with that on their own. Its enough to make a mother cry. If anyone around here wants a great lawn mowing, let me know. I have a ten year old who does an excellent job, and is a great business man.

Last night, I spent some money I couln't afford (and therefore shouldn't have) on taking him out to McDonalds. (I wanted KFC, but he says he doesn't like KFC anymore, he wanted McD, so McD it was) and then out to see LXG (League of Extraordinary Gentleman). We got there just in time, to see two previews before the movie. Each time I would think that looks like a good movie my son would say, "mom can we see that". Of course one was a no, because ten year olds (in my house) don't go to R movies. But The Order is a maybe, depending on what it is rated. This is a kid who wanted to see The Ring as much as I did. It didnt' phase him at all. Its so cool to have a kid who has the same (well mostly - I like somethings he hates, and he likes somthings I hate) taste in movies and tv. And since he is getting older, we can enjoy more things together. I am still the parent and he the child, but he is also becomming my little buddy.

I thought the movie was good, not great or extraordinary, just okay/good. Warren however loved it. Of course being a ten year old boy, he loves anything with lots of action and explosions. (Of course he also likes a good kids show, like Ice Age, Shrek or Finding Nemo). I for one thought it was good, but was missing something. I liked the premise, but it seems a bit contrieved. I am sure somewhere my old English professor, is just shaking his head.

I havent' read Dorian Grey, or Dracula, however I am familiar with Captain Nemo (20 Thousand Leques Under the Sea), and Allan Quatermain (Kind Solomn's Mine's who is sort of a 19th Century British version of Indiana Jones), as well as I not only have read and watched many versions of Tom Saywer, including the original Mark Twain, as well as Huck Finn (for English), I also live with a 21rst century version. My son is very much a Tom Saywer kind of kid. And I have a working familiarity with Jeckyll and Hyde. However I have one major beef, which is also a bit of a spoiler, but if they are going to use M* (if you have seen it you know who M* is), why isn't his nemisis and his assistant (SH and DW) in the story. (If you know who M* is, then the rest should make sense). The story it self was a bit well, I would have loved it at Warren's age, but now as an adult I wanted more character interaction and a little less boom-boom. They had so much potential, but alot of it was left unexplored. Then again, anything that has me wanting to go back and read old classics, can't be all bad can it.

Today as soon as Warren wakes up, and we eat, I am going to the walk in. I don't know what I did to the bottom of my foot, but on my left foot it hurts like the dicken to put any weight on he ball of my foot. I have too much going on to stay off of it. (I'm the sole support of an active ten year old, laying home in bed with my foot up is NOT going to happen. I looked at the bottom, and there is some kind of something on it, that looks almost like a reverse plantars wart. I don't if maybe I stepped on something and didn't notice at the time and it just got worse of what. I guess that's the price of almost never wearing shoes in the house, and sometimes out of the house. Let's hope it is something simple.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads