Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

And So It Goes

2001-08-15 @ 11:57 a.m.
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I just read some sad news. On August 4, 2001 the world lost another incredible talent. Best known as the voice of Garfield the Cat and Carlton the doorman (See Nick at night for reruns of Rhoda for those of you to young to remember), Lorenzo Music had one of those unique one of a kind voices, that could be recognized instantly. The world will mourn again. He was also a talented writer something I didn�t know. I remember Garfield as one of my favorite cartoons and I just cant� imagine any other voice coming from that cat. Here�s to you Lorenzo, may you rest in peace.

Since today was the 15th of the month, it was birthday cake day at work. Normally I like that as they usually go for the whipped frosting, instead of that sugar and lard decorator frosting that makes one gain fifty pounds and enter a diabetic coma after two bites. However, today some body sent the order in a little early. So I wound up with chocolate cake for breakfast. Normally that wouldn�t be a problem as I am definitely at odds with tradition when it comes to morning eats. Many days my first meal will be something like Mt. Dew and a hot dog or a donut, occasionally slipping to eggs and bacon or cereal or something if I am up early and feeling strange. Today for some reason it is not sitting well with me. It is only 15 to 11 am and so far I have had a 32 oz Mt. Dew; a Polish sausage on a bun with ketchup, pickles and onions; and a piece of chocolate cake with whipped frosting and some decorator frosting flowers. (A health food nut I definitely am not!) Needless to say this has left me in a very strange and hyper mood. It has also left me in desparate need of some Listerine. Looks like Holly will be� Scoping� out the Certs at metro drug on her lunch hour, or everyone within 20 ft of me will be going on revolt. Okay this is probably more information than some of you would like to know, but this is MY diary, and I think compared to many out there I am rather tame.

Last night after I picked up Warren from childcare, I made the mistake of asking him if he had a good day. As I quickly found out this was a very very bad idea. He responded with a smart remark, which of course raised up my hackles and kicked me into �ultra-mother� mode. The more I got upset at his behavior and insisted on his respectful behavior the more frustrated and out of control he got.

So instead of going to the store for bread and kitty food like I had planned (yes I have interesting shopping lists) we wound up going home. First we did three rounds then he and I managed to get ourselves together and he cooled off. He really doesn�t mean to act that way, he (and I) just get stuck and frustration gets rerouted thru the anger tunnel. Once he cooled down I could see he was also hungry so after a large supper of ravioli meatball spaghetti Os with carrot and celery sticks, and milk he was my happy huggy little boy again. He was also so tired he wanted to go to bed at 7pm. A sure sign of something was being out of line. I didn�t� even make him take a bath like I usually do, mainly because he was so tired he couldn�t keep his eyes open. (Tonight he will have no choice, two days is two days too long!) We didn�t even get to read a story. He instisted on sleeping in my room, which he has been doing a lot lately. He is only 8, and I am a huge proponent of the family bed so of course I relented. I try to get him to sleep in his bed, but sometimes he just needs to feel close to his mom. He is only 8 so I don�t� see this as a problem. If when he is 12 or 15 he wants to sleep with mom that will be different, but he is just a little boy, despite physical appearance and false bravado. This morning he had a hard time waking up. Once he got going and had some cereal he seemed to be much better. His next pdoc appointment is on August 21, so I will bring this up with the docs then. Hopefully it is just a short-term temporary thing.

Today I have to leave work early to get Warren registered for the coming school year. I can�t believe the summer is over so fast. I am so glad that school is coming up again, yet also somewhat disappointed. I�ve already ranted somewhat about school supply shopping. (When did schools stop supplying Kleenexes and when did markers become community property? Just what ARE my tax dollars paying for?) I guess most of my apprehension is about meeting Warrens new teacher. Is she going to have the patience to deal with him, or is she going to be one of those old school throwbacks who insists on towing the line, and in doing away with individuality, in favor or conformity. One of the things I hate about public school. Last year he was lucky. Mrs. C was a pretty good teacher. She would call me and talk about what was happening and keep communication open. She did have too many kids for a first grade classroom if you ask me, which made it harder because Warren needs one on one attention. He is great at subjects he likes that come easy for him, such as science and math. But things like Reading and spelling that take an effort frustrate him. When he is frustrated it comes out as anger. This is not a good thing in a classroom with 28 6 and 7 year olds trying to learn something. He, like me, has a hard time with something that is difficult and has the risk of making him look or feel stupid. I guess it is just another one of my mother�s legacies.

According to my highly informal poll, the votes are love my new haircut 12, hate my new haircut 0. I guess I can live with that. My favorite comments are the ones who say, �Did you change your hair?� Answer I�d like to give �no I�ve always looked this way, you just never paid enough attention to me to notice�. Answer I actually give �yes, I finally decided to do something different.� Sigh. (So much for overt honesty) I mean I went from long dark blonde/light brown hair to short very reddish auburn hair. Sheesh, I guess the quiet wheels really do get overlooked, till they start squeaking. (Or chop their hair off and color it a radically different color).

I am also thinking about making some changes to my layout. I plan to keep the dark starry background and go with the Han/Leia theme. But, some of the items on my left margin are going, I feel like I have too much there. I am also debating rather or not to finally move my rings to a different page. I also need to get busy on my images or buttons so I will finally be rid of the last of my template. But it�s hard when you are so limited in what you are using. Some of what I have I feel just doesn�t� fit anymore, or could be moved to a different page. Time to go HTML crazy again. First up, image hunting.

TTFN and MTFBWY

Holly

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads