Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Beating my head against a padded wall

29.07.03 @ 21:52
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I am growing more and more convinced that Warren maybe showing signs of Bipolarness. Not just because in so many ways he is a clone of me when I was his age, but even if he wasn't his behavior often is that which makes me wonder.

For example last night, he would not fall alseep for anything. Three o'clock in the morning and he is stil totally wired for sound and bouncing like he was in the high of the day. He comes bouncing up the stairs where I am asleep and turns on the tv blaring loud to Disney Channel. Waking me up and wanting to Watch "So Wierd" He tried to tell me he had been asleep and just woke up for that, but I knew better. Finally about 4 am or so I got him to at least lay down and try to go to sleep. That didn't work. I fell asleep he went down to breakfast, more tv, and finally crashing an hour before he was supposed to be up. (Truly his mom's son, I have done that many times). Of course I made him get up, and go to summer school anyway. I refuse to coddle him and play into his episodes. If you want to stay up all night, fine, but you will still get up and go to school/work or whatever you are supposed to do that day.

My little version of "all actions have consequences". But this didn't quite work out as planned. By 10am I get a call from school. Warren is beyond cranky and falling asleep in class. He told them about not getting any sleep and since it was not going to be productive I had to pick him up. Only I refused to take him home. Instead he went to daycare, where he mostly stayed awake, but they did let him lay on a cot and take a brief nap. Not exactly the reward of going home, but still a consquence. He was actually in a reasonably good mood when I picked him up. ...... until....

I refused to let him get a Coke.. suddenly he hates milk and water and orange jucice from the freezer is garbage. Keeping my cool, I managed to ignore him. (not always easy to do), and when we got home, the whole thing was over and forgotten. He helped me make dinner and drank two glasses of milk (which was suddenly not so bad). Then he wanted to go swimming or bike riding for soda. I would bike ride, but no soda, more fits. Swimming was out because of the weather. He layed down for a bit, to puzzle this and I started massaging his shoulders which ended that arguement. I thought by this point maybe he was ready for bed. Not quite..an hour and half later a bowl of cereal and a bowl of ice cream later I finally got him to bed at 8:30. His normal bed time is around 9 or 10, but last nights antics got it moved up a bit. 8pm didn't quite cut it, but I think a good heavy nights sleep and a good full breakfast will make a big difference.

Talking to Mr. R. (summer school teacher), it seems Warren has been having a major blood sugar drop at about 12 pm everyday. HE starts out the school day in a great mood and does well then about 12pm boom. My sweet loving child becomes crankier than wet cat. The summer school director however had a great idea. He mentioned that instead of cookies or poptarts a snack with some protein to go with the carbs may help keep him on a more even keel. I should know this.. I've read it enought times. So starting tommorrow I'm going to try a little fuller breakfast, and instead of cookies for snack I picked up some lunchables. Since he also seems to have acquireed my nasty soda habit I got some chocolate milk juice boxes. I'm crossing my fingers that it will help.

In yet another genetic practical joke my son has inherited my tendency to get very very cranky when tired, or hungry, or when blood sugars has a down spike. Since I know the idea of PBJ instead of cookies won't go over very well when others have store snacks, I thought the Lunchables might work better. RB is the same way. If he has low blood sugar or is over hungry you can't even talk to him. Lets hope we can stop this before I wind up on the roller coaster again.

Warren is now convinced his teacher hates him. I know that's not true and when I asked him why he thought that, all he could say was "well other wise he wouldn't have.. umm well I just know he does okay". I've met his teacher twice. He is a very easy going, nice guy. He had lots of nice things to say about Warren. Let's hope Warren won't change that. He really can be a wonderful kid when he wants to be, yet many times I feel like the only one who knows that.

If last night wasn't a manic episode, than I don't know what it was. I think if he could have he would have repainted the house. AS it was he repainted more of his matchbox cars, watched countless tv shows and who knows what else. I'm going to mention this to his doctors...again..along with my conviction that he shows all the signs of a learning disorder. Maybe this time someone will listen..after all I'm only his mother.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads