Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Mom - The 2nd Oldest Profession

2001-08-03 @ 12:40 p.m.
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I am feeling much better today than I was when I wrote that last entry. I am still questioning and searching but I don�t� feel so down and out any more. . Warren is going to his Dad�s tonight. Mike is picking him up at daycare so I had to say good bye to him this morning. I will pick him up again on Sunday night. Too bad I have to work on Saturday and put in an hour of CS time on Sunday. I need the work hours, and Saturday is usually dead anyway. So except for the hour on Sunday I will have some time alone. YEAH ME! I will probably spend most of it, cleaning house anyway. The kitchen is starting to resemble a disaster area again. I did get the dishes done last night so that is a start. Now if I can just get Warren to take off his shoes before he comes in. He has a tendency to take as much sand home as he leave at the park. I tell you after two days of sweeping the kitchen floor after him I have enough sand to grow a cactus. *okay maybe I am exaggerating a little there, but it sure seems like it. Some days just keeping up after Warren is a full time job all in its own.


I cannot begin to fathom how my maternal grandmother did it. She raised 13 children in a farm with no electricity, no running water, and very little money. And I with all the conveniences of he 21rst century am having trouble managing just one. It really makes me wonder sometimes, if all our modern inconveniences really improve our lives as much as we think they do. We can do more in a shorter amount of time, but instead of making less work and making life easier, we try to cram even more into our day. The other day I actually found my self getting impatient because the microwave wasn�t heating my lunch fast enough. What once took 20 �30 minutes or more now takes less than 5 and that is still to slow for some people. I see it everywhere, from the traffic going home, everyone has to be someplace yesterday, to waiting in line at the store, where people in fancy suits are looking at their watches every 2 minutes so they don�t miss the next meeting or client. When did we go become ants on speed, always scurrying around doing something? I�m all in favor of productivity, but I think we need to stop and be a little more grasshopperish sometimes. A little fiddling around is good for the soul. Nothing in our lives is so important that it can�t wait a few more minutes. Take time, look around, and really look around at what is going on, you might be amazed at what you see. I was reading the other day about a mother who�s baby died because she �forgot� him in the van when she went to work. Excuse me but when did a job/career become so all consuming that it is more important to you than your own child is. We have become so wrapped up in ourselves and our personal fulfillment that we overlook what really matters. There was nothing at her work that couldn�t� have waited. If she missed a deadline or a meeting the world would not have come to a standstill. But by concentrating on her work first, the rest of her life second, look at what it cost her. I�m sure in her own way she �loved� her child. But it was obvious that her career was first.. Her behavior demonstrated that quite clearly. It is also proof that contrary to what some members of the feminist movement may say, You CANNOT have it all. A person cannot serve to masters. I am a working mother, but my child comes first. My job is to pay the bills. If I have to choose my child comes first. There is nothing at work that cannot wait. I believe that too many women today have their priories backwards. We want to be equal with men. Intellectually and from a human standpoint I believe we are. We deserve to have the same pay, and the same rights and equal treatment under the law. That said however, there simply are not enough hours in the day. It may appear that you have it all, but ask your kids. They would rather have fun with you then all the second homes, fancy cars and ballet lessons in the world. The older ones may not admit it, but they will appreciate your time over your money anyway. Think about it, when people get old and look back on their childhood, its isn�t the presents and the fancy whatnots they remember, its how they felt, and how they were treated. My best memories of childhood have nothing to do with money. We weren�t� rich by any stretch (we didn�t go hungry or ever do without, but we didn�t have fancy clothes or trips abroad either.). My fondest memories are of times I spent with my family or friends just having fun, or being together. I knew that with the exception of tax time, if I needed anything my Dad would always have time for me. No matter how much work needed to be done, I didn�t feel like my brother and I were an after thought or something they just had to put up with. We were the priority. The rest of it was because of us, not inspite of us. Motherhood, and Fatherhood IS a job. Ask anyone who has stayed home with his or her child and they will tell you it is the hardest job you will ever love. It deserves the same respect as any other career, even if the pay and benefits are not in a monetary form. To quote an old song favorite. �The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.� Just remember the mothers of today are shaping the world of tomorrow. Think about that. When you go home to your kids.. what do you want society to be like when we are old. The way we treat our kids today, is going to be reflected back at us when we are aged, an the tables turn. Hmmm. Think about it.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads