Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Okay.. So I lied... Sue Me..

05.12.01 @ 13:18
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Yes I've been lazy again. I've been doing the online tests again. Below the Cat and the Fruit test, are a couple of slightly more legit tests. These were taken from Queendom.com. I didnt' post my emotion IQ results, because personally I think the scoreing is off or somthing.. I also didn't post my IQ results because I kinda hurried thru it, and was interupted a few times, so I think it was a slighly less than accurate. I usually score some where in the above average, to higher category. This time I barely made it to above average. I know this is probably counting against me since I am not exactly posting legit entires lately. I am just in a strange mood. A funk if you must. I am feeling totally stressed out with the bills and taxes that I have no idea how I am going to pay, and work and the house and everything feels like it all conspired at once to gang up on me.

Rest assured I will return to my normal self shortly. On a lighter note, some one actually googled me looking for Crankiness, wierd.. Weirder yet, there were many many sites that came up and I was listed numerous times, starting at number 4 or 5. I've also been googled for Ron Weasley, Weasily kids and someone looking for the Royal Fork recipe for Fried Chicken. (there ain't a recipe, they just coat it with some flour like stuff and fry. I used to work at Country Harvest which is almost the same thing.). I have also been hit by other search engines. Including one that was in Arabic, so I have no idea what they were looking for.

And so it goes....



Take the What Cat Are You? test by webkin!


Strawberry: 30/100 Pear: 20/100 Banana: 60/100 Tomato: 10/100 Lemon: 10/100

Take the What Fruit Are You? test by webkin and aaronr!

Obviously they forgot one important point, I hate bannanas. Not like some might hate a particular food, but hate to the point where the mere smell can make me totally nausious.

Results of the Concentration Test

Concentration Your score = 76
Number of correctly identified pairs: 92 (76 percent of the total)
Number of missed pairs: 28
Number of incorrectly identified numbers: 2
What does your score mean?
Very good performance! You are in the 70-89th percentile (between 11 and 30 percent of people score as well or better than you). That means that your concentration is very good. When working on a task, you focus well. Nevertheless, you do let yourself get somewhat distracted by unrelated diversions. Overall, not bad, but some work on your concentration would not hurt.

Yes I sometimes will be concentrating so hard on something I actually loose all track of time, or what is going on around me. Other times I can barely pay attention at all. But as a rule I tend to lead more towards the absent minded professor side. Especially if I am really trying to figure something out. It will be on my mind untill I solve it.

About Coping with Stress

Stress is part of life. A death in the family, the birth of a baby, moving, taking a vacation, getting a job promotion, arguing�all of these common occurrences are stressful. Since stress can't be excised from the life experience, it is very important to learn how to deal with it. Research shows that it isn't necessarily the nature of the stressor that drives people to dizzying heights of fist-clenching, jaw-grinding, cold-sweating states of stress and panic. The key factor is one's response to a stressful situation. Different people respond differently to stressors. One person may calmly face moving day, while another person (in the exact same situation) might be totally wiped out by the stress that moving induces. So the ability to manage the stressors that bombard us daily is of the utmost importance. We should view stress in much the same way as we view the weather. Although we might not be pleased with a rainy day, there is not much to be done about. We continue to go about our business in full acceptance of the rain. To deal with it we take an umbrella, wear a raincoat and maybe even rubber boots. Maybe we change our plans a little so as to spend less time outdoors. The best way to battle stress is to deal with it in much the same way. Instead of trying to master stressful situations or make them go away, the best bet is to learn how to work around them. Stress manifests itself physically. When facing a stressor, your body responds by switching into 'fight or flight' mode. Physiologically, your body is ready to deal with the perceived danger (the stressor). Your blood pressure goes up, heart and respiration rate increases, and hormones such as adrenaline are released. The muscles become tensed (some people clench their jaw), head-aches, back pain, stomach aches (ulcers become exacerbated), bad skin and the inability to concentrate may plague your day. Your extremities become cold as blood is kept in the central part of the body. The immune system is weakened (since your body is concentrating on dealing with the stressor) and you become very susceptible to colds, flues, cold sores, cankers, etc. Stress erodes away sexual function also. Evidently stress is a very real, and potentially uncomfortable component of life.

Results of the Coping Test
Your score = 63
What does your score mean?
You appear to have very good coping skills. This means that most of the time, you are not left defenseless when it comes to stress. You don't crack under pressure, and find your way out from most precarious situations. You are not a victim of your environment and feel pretty much in control. Still, there might be some situations in which you could feel overwhelmed, helpless, or out of control. Coping skills can be learned and it's always worth it to add a few to your repertoire. Below, you might find some problem areas that might be improved.

Adaptive reaction to stress
Your score = 56
You tend to react to stress in a relatively adaptive way. You are able to deal effectively with usual stress. However, some extremely stressful situations may leave you paralyzed, unable to act and feeling helpless. Putting things into proper perspective and de-dramatizing them could help. Don't be too hard on yourself and set realistic goals. Accept your mistakes. Usually, they don't mean the end of the world; rather, they offer an opportunity to learn and grow. If you manage to reduce the perceived weight that a stressful situation has in your eyes, you will manage to reduce the stress itself.

Ability to assess situation
Your score = 65
You appear to be relatively capable of assessing correctly the situations you find yourself in. However, you don't seem to be 100 percent comfortable. Maybe it's just a question of trusting your own judgment, and in fact, your evaluations are accurate. Maybe your evaluation of stressful situations is too negative. Test it! If you find out that your gut reactions let you down, try to retrain yourself. For example, play a "hypothesis testing" game in everyday situations. Observe whether your initial predictions of outcomes are on target. If not, make note of the discrepancies, gauging where and why they might have occurred, and try to correct them. With time, your assessments will become more accurate.

Self-reliance
Your score = 61
In general, you trust and rely on yourself. However, you seem to have some doubts about your abilities, and sometimes you don't dare to trust your own judgment. You might be capable of more than you think. You will never know unless you put your judgment to test. Making mistakes is acceptable and necessary. You need to allow yourself to err. To be wrong feels better than being dependent. And the sweet taste of self-actualization is something you shouldn't deprive yourself of.

Resourcefulness
Your score = 52
Resourcefulness seems to be one of your strengths. Life situations often require people to find solutions to uncommon problems. You seem to know where to turn for help, information, or support. This decreases your risk of getting stuck or feeling helpless. There is a way out of most problems, and you don't give up easily. You are not ashamed to ask around if you need information. You are able to ask for or accept support and help without giving up responsibility for the solution of your own troubles.

Adaptability and flexibility
Your score = 66
You seem to be a very flexible person and adapting to change is not a problem for you. You are open-minded and willing to learn and explore. It takes energy and courage. You have it in you, and you try to use it to its fullest extent.

Proactive attitude
Your score = 65
You appear to be someone who is not hesitant to take action. You seem to realize that changing less than ideal situations requires modification of your behavior and plans. Even though taking action brings about some risks, compared to sitting around and refusing to change, the risks are worth it.

Ability to relax
Your score = 66
You are good at allowing the kid in you to surface, to simply enjoy life and relax. The ability to let off steam is one of the most important coping skills. Physical activity, laughter, relaxation and plain fun can reduce stress like nothing else can.

If I am so good at coping with stress, then why do I always feel one step away from totally loosing it. I guess maybe I am coping better than I think, but I think I could cope better if I didnt' have so much to cope with. I think that made sense.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads