Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

An entire entry all about food

22.02.03 @ 20:29
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I am definately feeling a bit, better if only temporary. We ended up not going to see Daredevil. We'll see how tommorrow goes.

Instead Warren went for a bike ride. Yes I know it is still around 0 temps, but it is still and sunny and the kid is got to be part Arctic dweller. He was in a much better mood after. He took his evening meds with out a big fuss. He also ate supper, and actually liked it. Looks like Prago's pasta bake sauce is on my list of must buy items. Good thing I like it. I wouldn't have even bought it if it wasn't on sale. Considering the bills I am looking at those leftovers are going to have to stretch very far.

I was watching Iron Chef the other day, and then my brain started wandering. Usually that is a scary thing, but in this case it actually came up with something resembling and intelligent thought. A challange that would put even the most diehard Iron Chef in a tizzy. Give each chef $50 and challange them to come up with an entire weeks worth of nutritious meals, including snacks, and desserts as well as breakfast. lunches and dinner. All meals must be quick, easy, cheap and pleasing to a panel of judges who are all finicky eaters and none of whom have passed puberty. I call it Iron Chef Mom. If mothers all around the world can do it, why can some fancy hi-falutin chef. At least then they would be cooking food real people could make.

Just today alone I counted about 5 separate hits looking for potatos augratin. I know I've had numerous other hits as well looking for it. Well I do make a mean augratin potato, though it really more of a scalloped potato with cheese. I can give out the recipe, but you'll have to guesstimate with the amounts as I never really measure. You also need to know the basics of roux. I start with melted butter (margarine works but doesn't taste as well) and a bit of vegetable oil to lower the smoke point. I heat it up and add diced onion. Fry the onion until it is brown and sweet (carmelized for you techincal types) then add corn starch to make a roux of sorts. (use less than you would if using flour). I use corn starch as it doesn't leave the same pasty taste as flour and adds something to the flavor. Then I cook it a few minutes. Once it is approaching a medium stage, but not yet golden I add milk to make a nice white sauce. At this point I also add salt pepper and seasoning to taste. Then to make them cheesy I stir in about a third of a pound or so of grated American cheese. (Not velveeta, not that prewrapped crap but real honest to goodness American cheese, available at any good deli counter in any amount you want). Once cheese is melted and you have a smooth cheese sauce I layer it a large caserole dish (or crock pot works too) with about 5 - 7 thinkly sliced potatos (Russet work by far the best, just the right starch content). Cover and bake about an hour or so until the potatos are soft and yummy. Usually I uncover for the last 10 or 15 minutes so it gets nice and golden and bubbly. If desired chopped ham, or broccoli can also be added. Sometimes I also garnish with seasoned bread crumbs.

Since I am talking food, I am also glad to see that cereal companies are finally getting smart and putting the toys in the box outside of the cereal wrapped separately. I really don't want cereal after my kid has stuck his hand in it al over, or dumped it out just for the toy. I remember doing that as a kid, or trying to hurry up and eat as much as possible as fast as possible so I could get the cheap plastic junk before my brother. Today they had Wheeties, Honey Nut Cheerios, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch on sale. Of course these are my son's favorites (well among them), and of course the prize in each box was a Hot Wheels car. (Some day this kid will be on on Incurable Collector" as the guy with 1 million Matchbox, Hotwheels cars). I told him that he would have to wait as he wasn't going to open up the boxes and start dumping out cereal just for a lousy toy car. Of course as soon as we get home I no sooner have the groceries put away and guess who is ripping open the cereal. So all I can say is Thank You General Mills, you have made moms everywhere quite happy.

Warren fell alseep by 8pm again. I told him now that we had lots of cereal and milk he didn't need to wake me up for breakfast. He told me he was going to make pancakes. I remember making pancake breakfasts for my family on weekend mornings at that age. It was fun and they were pretty good. Unfortunately I also remember the mess. Something tells me I will be getting up early again. This is a kid who LOVES his pancakes. Especially since I bought some of his favorite mix. And since I also bought sausages, if I don't wake up I have a feeling the smoke alarm will wake me up. Unless he trys to use my No name George Forman wannabe grill. In which case I refer you to earlier in the paragraph where I discuss the mess. Good thing I bought a new bottle of Palmolive dishsoap in Anti-stress aroma therapy scent with Lavander and Ylang Ylang. (The scent is wonderiffic.

Okay all this talk about food is making me hungry, and I just ate not all that long ago. At least it took my mind of of other things. (and people).

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads