Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

My Rant for the Week...

18.02.02 @ 21:57
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I am 32 and I am a single mother. I have a career and a child. I stayed home when my child was small and I have a degree in a tradionally male field. The majority of my interests and likes are what one might consider non tradional for a female yet I consider motherhood my most important role in life, why because I will have my whole life for everything else, but my son will only be a kid once. True feminsim recognizes that a womans place is ANYWHERE SHE WANTS IT TO BE. Unlike June Cleaver today's SAHM doesnt' "stay at home", nor is she taking a role because society or her husband says she has to. Quite the contrary. She knows all of her options has weighed her choices and made a conscious decision to stay home because she wants to do what is right for her child, not because she can't do anything else.

The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world. date: 10:30 pm - Monday,February 18, 2002 This rant was prompted by current events happening here. This was a tough one for me. I have always felt torn on this issue. Its is like there are two parts of me argueing both sides of this issue. I feel I have managed to have it all, just not at the the same time. I was able to be home with my son when he was small and yet as he grew older able to move on and return to a life in the working for money world. I say working for money world because being a mom is work. Anyone who says otherwise has never spent time with a small child. And anyone who thinks motherhood is nothing to be happy or excited about has totally missed the boat. What could possibley be more important than ensuring the future of the human race, the choices and decisions we make as mothers will have lasting effect on generations to come. When my son looks back on his childhood in years to come, it won't be the car, or the lessons or the money he remebers. It will be the time we spent together, the fact that he was more important to me than anything else. What is it saying to a child when our careers and our desire for material possesions are more important than our child's need to be parented and valued. My job is scheduled and worked around my child, not the other way around. My child knows he is more important than a new car or a summer home by the lake.

I am convinced that a large part of what is wrong today is that too many kids aren't as important to their parents as getting ahead in life. The kids are just another possesion or rite of passage. They have thier career and suddenly realize they forgot the kids. They want the kids and the career but they want thier personal desires more. The kids are farmed out to be raised by a series of well paid strangers, or shuffled off to grandma's house. Its time people realized that the future of our raise and our society starts at home. It starts with the first and most important relationship in a child's life, the relationship the child has with his/her mother father. Volumes have been written on this. Biology and brain development have been discovered to depend in large part on this. And yet we cast this aside as if it means nothing? No wonder society is going to hell.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads