Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

He would have been 70 tommorrow

13.12.01 @ 14:04
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Tommorrow is December 14, 70 years ago tommorrow my Dad was born. Sunday is the 16th of December, 5 years ago on that date, was one of the worst days of my life. It was on that date that my father passed away, suddenly and unexpectedly from a massive coronary. I didn't even realize it was already that date till I was looking at my calander just now. I was writing down birthdays in my Day minder for friends and family etc, adn when I got to December I realized that tommorrow would have been my Dad's 70th birthday.

I guess I should feel blessed that I was one of the lucky girls who had a good daddy. My dad was the type who always managed to find time for his wife and kids, even with all the work that goes in to running a family farm. My dad was a bit old fashioned, but then growing up in the Depression with immigrant parents will do that to a person. He was also close to 40, before I came along, which I believe came him a certain patience and wisdom for dealing with an over active child who's favorite questions are "Why?" and "but what if". My father was not a perfect man, he was prone to occasional temper outbursts, and had been known to swear at stubborn machinery parts. But he was also able to use complex mathmatics to figure out problems that he had no formal training for. My Dad never went beyone high school in education, except for a brief stint in the Army at Uncle Sams request. He just missed serving in Korea by a technicality in the law that was later revoked. Maybe that is one reason I love M*A*S*H.

My Dad was very close to me, he was one of the few people I always knew I could count on, and he always treated my mother with respect and dignity. He was a bit old world in some of his attitudes, but he was still someone people looked up to, and who always took care of his family.

It took quite awhile to get past his death, just when I felt like I needed him most. He is sorely missed by everyone. I feel it everytime I look at my son and realize my dad will never get to see his only grandson grow up. He died when Warren was three, and my grandfather died when I was three. Both happened in December about 25 years and a few days appart. Only difference was that I was not pregnant with another child like my mom was. On my fathers side of the family for some reason December seem to be the prime month for births and deaths. My Dad, my Grandpa, and my Aunt were all born in December. My Dad and my Grandpa both passed away in December, as did my Aunts husband. My Aunt is still alive, but not in the best of health. Most people regaard December as a month full of parties and gifts and other social happenings. In my family it is usually a month to wonder who is gonna die this year, or occasionally who will have a baby this year.

I just realized that this started out as a semi tribute to my Dad, and ended up a dark and depressing gloomer about December. I think I will end this here. in honor of my father

Nordine Milo *******
Dec 14, 1931 - December 16, 1996
REST IN PEACE

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads