Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

15 Minutes of fame?

Monday, Mar. 15, 2004 @ 8:36 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Well after much contemplation and checking the hits I've had today, I've decided not to lock my diary. I have moved some of my more sensitive entries (read entries I don't want certain people who may know me in real life to read) to my private folder.

Its actually been rather intersting to read the hits I've been getting from places as diverse as Harvard (Good Grief Charlie Brown!), Aberdeen Pioneer Press,Dorsey Law, Norwest, NDSU and NDSU Library, the State of ND (I guess somebody is reading The Forum online during work hours), Butler Machinery, Case, Forum Communications, Creighton University, Bismarck State College and several I haven't bothered to run thru reverse IP look up. I can't remember the last time I had this many hits, or this diverse of hits. Its all been just a bit overwhelming.

At first I was upset, no make that outright freaked out of my mind. I nearly ripped the door off of the warehouse, and nearly tackled my computer like a football player in the last half of a very close Superbowl. But then after calming down (and drinking a couple of Mt. Dews) I decided maybe it wasn't such a bad thing. So some entries have been moved to my private folder and more may move till I see what happens. (I will be watching my stats MUCH CLOSER, for a while that is for sure). I would have prefered to have been asked though. I could have finally fixed the broken pictures (I cleaned out my Qwest web space and got a little happy on the delete), and had some pages moved. This just got me completely unawares, to say the least. I didn't know my heart could beat that fast.

I am also beyond flattered that my web diary was considered good enough to be an example. I may write the reporter a letter now that I have had time to think about what I want to say. It is an honor, just one I would have liked advance knowledge of.

A quote from the article by Nora Paul - Institute for New Media Studies - University of Minnesota "I think there is something very empowering about it, and the fact the technology makes it possible to have an audience- even if its only four or five - is very exciting to some people" This isn't exactly why I keep a diary, but its close. I started this diary as just a place to vent and maybe meet a few people with similiar issues. It has turned into a sort of mini counselor, venting space, and most importantly a sort of online family of people who all share their lives in some form or another, and even though we live all over the world we are a community, a 21rst century equivelant of the quilting circle.

Instead of meeting everyweek to sew blocks and chew the fat, we hop on our individual computers post updates on ourlives and then read about everyone else at our leisure. I have met some great people thru Diaryland and also on the SW Boards where I post, some of whom I would consider very good friends, and would trust as well as I trust people I see right here. Its a sign of the times, that we are no longer limited to our own local geographic area for friendship anymore, but can now get to be close friends with somebody who lives half planet away.

I for one cherish every single diary listed on my buddy list or my blog roll, you have all opened me up to a much greater world of people than I ever would have known were I limited to only those people I actually meet in person.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who still insist that 2nd hand smoke is not dangerous.
Thankful For: All my online friends - Thanks for being part of my world
Music of the mind: : Someday by Nickelback (I don't know where that came from)

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads