Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

My son the bottomless wonder

Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003 @ 8:39 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Google must like me, in addition to being number 1 for Juana, iguan (see yesterday). I am now also number 2, on search for "Stop the world I want to get off" Lyrics. I didn't even know there were lyrics.

I also spent about 20 minutes today, with somelady from Jamestown, who I think was trying to bribe me into "helping her win the car". To give some background, every year as a promotion we raffle off a car. Anyone who makes a purchase in a specific time period, or who enters online, or sends in an entry form is entered. This lady, didn't want to mail in a form, or order anything (unless she won, then she would buy some "really good calcuim". However even after repeated explanations that I have nothing to do with choosing who wins the car, she kept reminding me, that she would be very nice, and she knew I could help her win. She didn't know what she would do, but she could really use that new Buick, and would be really happy. She would be very appreciative to the person who "helped" her. And she just knew I could do something.. I think somebody needs to check on "Grandma's" medication. The only way I could get rid of her, with out making false promises, was to tell her, I would do my best to see what I could do. Whatever. I think I'd rather talk to the people who call in to find out if they won. UMM the drawing isn't until 11-15, as is clearly stated in your catalog, and trust if you win, we will let you know. Its amazing how greed renders even smart people stupid.

On the homefront, a goodnight sleep seems to have made a universe of difference for Warren. He woke up this morning ina good mood, did his homework with no arguement at all. Once I scrapped my chin off the linoleum I made his usual cheesy eggs and sausage, (one of his favorite breakfasts), and he actually made it all the way to school with out a single aruguement. HOwever when I dropped him off he mentioned he was tired. He ended up taking a 15 minute nap. (Keep in mind he is 10). And lost a couple points in the day for falling asleep in class. But he had a 93% day, and was happy with it. I was thrilled. He has a page of math homework, but he wants to do it in the morning. After seeing how today went, I have no problem with that. I was so thrilled, and I had a major headache, so talking me into going out for pizza was not hard. We ended up eating at Godfather's.

Most of the time when I read parental web sites and advice columns I think either they are way off base or that is how I handle it, as it usually concerns something I have been thru or can relate to. However there is one parenting issue, I have never been able to relate to. That is the one with the fussy child who seems to never eat, or who goes thru a buffet and doesn't pick enough food for a sparrow. No I was blessed with a kid who eats a bowl of cottage cheese, 8 slices of pizza and then wants ice cream.

I have a kid whose favorite pizza is a vegetarian calzone, complete with spinach. A kid who at 4, could not be left alone in the same room as an open can of mushrooms. (he is MY son!! LOL). I also have the only known 10 year old on earth who will not only eat green beans, but will specifically request them. But before you get all green with envy, I also have the only 10 year old who is already taller and heavier than his kindergarten and first grade teachers. A child who at his present rate of growth will be shopping at big and tall stores by his 16th birthday. Any suggestions on how to get a kid to eat less, with out making him feel like he is being starved.

HE doesn't eat all fatty foods. He likes veggies, and is as happy with a bowl of oatmeal (sometimes) as with eggs or pancakes. But everything he eats is enough to feed an adult. Heck there are many meals where he eats more than me, and I am....well lets just say, I'm twice the woman I should be. I know the meds (esp the risperdal) have a lot to do with it. Before the meds he ate alot, but he was slim and solid, now he is still not fat in my book, but he does look like a miniature quaterback. I just worry that his weight could very easily become and issue. I know healthy foods and try to make mostly heathy choices, but working all day, the last thing I want to do is spend an hour making dinner. I get home, we are starved and we want to eat NOW!! Sometimes I love to cook, but not when I am exhausted, and seriously in need of a mental tidy.

I would love some ideas, particularly onces for the financially challanged. I have enough potatoes right now to feed the entire neighboorhood. (a perk of he Red River Valley). I also have fruit and fresh veggies, and I rarely ever buy bread that isn't whole wheat. Its only that he states he is always hungry.. he eats the meal and is still "starving mom". Does anyone else have a bottomless wonder?

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Take your pick of these 2002 Stella award winners"
Thankful For: The fact its almost bed time
Music of the mind: : "Got to get back...back to the past ...Samurai Jack...."

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads