Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Fact and fiction

23.07.03 @ 23:11
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Okay, two of you had the right answer. Of course only three people responded, but oh well..

1)I once broke my arm falling off a rocking chair

This is true. Embarrassing as hell, but true. About 7 years ago, I was putting my son to bed and he asked me for some toy something or other that was on a high shelf. Like an idiot instead of getting something designed to stand on, I grabbed the handiest chair, which happened to be a sideless rocking chair. (The same chair I often used for rocking Warren to sleep especially when he was a baby. I had found it in a second hand store a year or so before I was pregnant.). You can guess what happened. My balance when wack, I fell backwards and did what most people do instinctively when they fall backwards. I put my hands behind me to catch myself. Only most of me went one way, while my arm was twisted in a slightly different direction. I knew the minute it happened what I had done. Unfortunately RB was out, and I had no one to watch Warren. so I iced it with a bag of frozen peas until RB came home. Then I went to the ER, where they put a temp cast on it. Then next day I had to run around and pick up my xrays and go to the orthopedist to get a perm cast. I was supposed to work the next day. Obviously I didn't. Oh and I was driving a two door hatchback, whose driver door only opened from the inside. I have never been that stupid again.
2)When I was 7, my backside was on the front page of a newspaper.
Also true. When I was 7 I was at the local pool splashing around and doing what kids do. Only the elastic in my suit bottom apparently was wearing out. Andrist who runs our local paper (and later served in ND state senate) happened to be there that day with his camera. The next day it was on the front page of the D*****C***** Journal. They didn't publish the name, but almost everyone who knew me recognized me right away. My mom still has it hidden somewhere. It took me all summer and then some to live that down.
3)Strangers now pay money to sleep in the bedroom where I grew up
Yes. About a year after my Dad passed away my mom auctioned off most of our farm stuff. The house was first sold to a couple who were going to move it, but they didn't take possession of it within the year, so my mom sold it again. This time a neighbor of ours, who used to cash rent land from my dad, (and who's son I had a crush on in Jr. Hi.)and intersestingly was also the auctioneer at the original farm estate action, bought it and turned it into a hunting lodge. My bedroom is now a guestroom where strangers pay to sleep. They also refinished our basement, which was something I remember asking my dad if we could do since as long as I could remember. I haven't seen it, but my mom says it is beautiful. I don't think I want to, as it would be too painful. That house was my grandfathers, and my dad grew up in it before I did. I prefer to remember it the way it was.
4)I was once blonde
YUP! Natural blonde even. I was born with black hair that fell out and then grew back in blonde. I was blonde for the first 5 years of my life and then my hair started gradually getting darker. I even have pictures to prove it.
5)I taught my self to swim but I have a phobia of deep water.
Also true. I love water, I don't mind having my face under as long as my nose is plugged. I love to swim (I'm not very good though). However two near drowning incidents, one when I over estimated my abilities (I was maybe 13 or 14) and when when I was pushed in by someone fooling around (I was around 15)Have left me with a fear that causes me to have a major panic attack if I cannot touch my feet to the bottom of the pool with my head comfortably above water. It is one of my biggest phobias. I even get panicy at the thought of going out in a boat, even with lifejackets because I know the water will be too deep. The thought of visiting the ocean would be enough to give me nightmares, and would have me scared shitless. So far Warren does not have this fear at all. He easily jumps off the diving board in to 10 feet of water with no fear at all.
6)I love knee socks
False. I hate socks. I only wear socks or hose when the weather or situation requires I have to, such as winter, job interviews, certain working situations where sandles wouldn't work, dressy occasions. Otherwise I much prefer sandles. If I could I would even rather go barefoot. If I have to wear socks, I prefer ankle socks. I loathe panty hose with a passion. I always wear skirts that are long enough that I can get away with knee high hose. (on those rare rare occasions I wear a skirt.) Nylons are tight, bunchy, they run, and I hate the way they feel. I am a very non-girly girl. Actually I hate most tradional girly-girl things.
7)I once started our house on fire
This is also true. When I was 16 and a Junior in high school (I graduated at 17) I was sleeping out on the enclosed porch downstairs (I can't remember why). There were no electric lights in the porch at the time, except for one big ceiling light. It was on the ground floor, right off the living room and just a short distance from the kitchen. I had been using candles for light instead. I went to light the candle, and then I thought I had the match out, but it had also burned my hand so I dropped it. It must have fallen into the couch. While I went to the kitchen to get something to eat and then stopped in the living room to watch part of Simon and Simon I thought I heard a crackling sound. There was no smoke or anything, so I didan't pay much attention. It got louder so I went out to the porch .

"Holy Shit" the couch was on fire and it was going up the wall. I paniced. I tried to smother it with the blanket, but I didn't really know what I was doing. I tried geting water from the kitchen but that was woefully inefficent. By this time it was getting worse. Finally my parents woke up.Then chaos really insued. My mom was in total panic. I was trying to convince everyone I had it under control (a total lie). My dad was the only one calm and collected. He grabbed the fire extinquisher,and eventually managed to get it out. My dad was always the only member of the family to keep it together in a crisis and still think clearly. I always seem to react to extreme stress with a bad case of the stupids, my mom just freaks. Luckily the main house was fine.

But my mom didn't hardly speak to me for two days. (She had already lost everything she owned TWICE in a home fire, the first time when she still lived with my grandparents and that house burned to the ground, while they were out working in the fields.[this would have been in the 40's I think]. The second when she and my aunt were living over a bakery in Williston and my mom, my aunt Hedy (short for Hedwig) and a friend Irene had to escape out a second story window with nothing but their clothes and the purses my aunt Hedy grabbed. This was about 3 years or so before I was born, about a year or two before my parents married.) The thought of this house burning too, was just too much for my mom. Luckily the insurance paid for the damage, and my folks remolded the porch. I burnt my hand but my mom burnt hers a bit worse. I ended up doing my mom's hair and much of the cooking for about a month after that. I have been paranoid about matches ever since.

If that curse about someday "your going to have a kid just like you" only worse and then you'll understand are true. Boy am I in for some real trouble.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads