Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Reality is for people who lack imaginatin or I am back from Valley Con where I had a blast

Sunday, Nov. 02, 2003 @ 9:33 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I'm back. Valley Con was awesome, there were a few minor things, but over all I would say it was a super,awesome, wonderful, great, when can I go back again experience. Running a hospitality suite is a bit of work, but it was a labor of love. None of us had ever done it before, so we were making it up as we went along, but I would say it was a very successful experience.

I also spent way way way too much money, but there were so many wonderful things just screaming out "Buy Me, Buy Me". I wish I would have brought more cash, I really miss not having that Dr. Who shirt, but I did get a cool first print Dr. Who novel imported from Great Britain. There were several, along with some audio episodes, but alas not enough cash. My most treasured memento is my Walter Koenig (Checkov in the original Trek), autographed picture. I am sure he thinks I am a complete moron as when I bought the picture, (because I would have had to tear my attic apart to find my very ancient copy of Checkov's Enterprise), I told him to write whatever he wanted, and he asked my name and it took me thirty seconds to blurt it out. I had dozens of questions I wanted to ask, but when I got a chance to, my brain time warped out around the sun and didn't return to earth until I was back in my room.

Warren got a really cool oil burner that is a red dragon with a little oil holder hanging from his mouth (I'll post pics). I had to talk him out of the chainmaile belt, and there were some really cool knives and swords, but in my opinion he is way way to young to handle the responsiblity of anything like that. I also picked up some really funny buttons, there were tons but the ones I have were " Reality is for people who lack imagination" , "Laugh at your problems, everybody else does", "Information deteriorates upwards through a bureaucracy" and "The more one knows, the less one believes". I was wearing them all convention and had several people stop me just to read me. And my second favortite purchase, which I won at the Charity auction was an original theatre One Sheet poster from Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the ring. It is the one with all of the cast on it. When I get pics developed (no digi cam - long story) I will definatly post them.

Instead of making one huge entry I will talk mainly about Friday night first, which was when we checked in at 2:30 (after I had spent the entire day running around like a headless chicken) and found out we had to be up and ready by 5pm. We started with Alien, Legend and Buck Rogers, all of which had a great response. We dressed up for Halloween. I was a redneck vampire, Warren was a monster, but later became another vampire, K* was a gypsy, and A* was a witch ( a sexy witch I might add). There were so many cool costumes, the party was awesome.

But I was a good girl, I only had two Long Islands (my favorite grown up beverage in the whole world, I could drink them all night long). After one drink we were all feeling mighy party down. The music was loud and rocking.. There was even Frankenstien..on stilts adn he was dancing.. the guy danced the whole night away.. I even got out and danced, and those who know me, know I never dance in public, I don't generally go for parties, but this was just too fun. When I went back for my second drink, some guy I just met (who was a total gentleman) was at the bar getting some drinks for him and some friends and he actually bought mine for me. He wasn't somebody I would be interested in, but he was such a sweet guy, (unlike the next guy to make a move who was just plain creepy). But since we had to open up by noon the next day and we wanted time to shower etc... we decided to be good and go to sleep by 1am. (The motel also required we shut down by midnight.. (though actually some rooms stayed open they just closed the door so people had to knock).

The costumes some people had were just amazing, the amount of time and detail, the creativity.. I was just amazed.. I am hoping to have a much better costume next year, though the lady with the chainamaille string bikini was in my mind just a tad over the top.. (especially since we were double booked with the Church of the Nazarene..OOPS!!).

Across from us were the other two suites.. Whurld's End (they did a super awesome job!!), and the Anime suite ( I didn't get a chance to check that one out). I have pictures, of all of us, except the Anime suite.. anyway to get back on subject. We finally crashed about 1am.. However I was so wound up, as two Long Islands on some one who hasn't had a drink in 6 years and had only eaten half a slice of pizza, and egg McMuffin, and a hand ful of Ritz crackers is quite the sight..

Anyway I lay there and tossed a few times... finally around 2 or 3 I finally fall asleep.. comfortably deeply asleep.. the kind of sleep where you know you are dreaming, but as soon as you wake up you have no idea what you dreamt.. so imagine my suprise when morning came way quicker than any of us had intended, thanks to a very wild fanboy who had a very evil sense of humor and way to much alchohol... after 5 minutes of me and K* beating every button on the clock, in a sleep deprived haze, K* finally had a moment of lucidty where her brain connected with reality.. "Every body up..its a *#(@ fire alarm." So I stumpled around still only partially in this universe, brought my son back from the dead, somehow managed to locate my keys shoes and wallet, slipped a jacket on my semi conscious son and trapsed to the lobby. Finally it dawns on me "Aw fuck, its 16 Freaking degress outside and I am in shorty pajamas.. " We finally get to the lobby only to discover it was false alarm, because some asshole, who has a line of people taking numbers so they can test various methods of torture out on him, decided to set of a fire extinguisher in the fartherst stairwell, which emited a huge cloud of talcum powder like particles that took almost an entire day to clean up.. leaving the hotel with no fire alarms only security people on fire patrol..

After trapsing back to our room, Warren hit the bed approximately 2 minutes after falling into a deep sleep, that he thought the whole experience was a dream the next day. A* fell asleep fairly quickly, K* and I however were in full sleep deprived hysteria mode. We ended up laughing so hard, it was almost painful.. Finally we quit (because A* would have duct taped both our mouths had we not). K* fell asleep. I layed there, hovering around that border between not asleep and not yet totally awake. When 7 am rolled in I couldn't take it anymore and got dressed and went to explore. There wasn't much going on except for a few left over partiers who never quite made it back to where ever they were supposed to go, and some who apparently don't see a need to bother with things like sleep. Since I couldn't sleep , grabbed a hot cocoa off the cart, and chilled in the lobby. I was lucky and got the remote to the tv. AFter flipping through the channels I hit the jackpot.. Normally I never watch Today, or any of those other stupid morning "news" shows.. but this time was different. They had Hayden Christiansen on, and by some biarre coinsidence he was actually being interviewed by someone who had a brain and asked intelligent questions.. After drooling on the fine cherry table, I went back to the room where the others were getting up.. and that takes us to Saturday, which is another entire entry.

I left out Shaggy and Mr. Feet, who were the only two con goers that fell into the annoying guest from hell catagory. Mr. Feet was mainly just strange and couldn't shut up.. and well bordering on creepy. Call me old fashioned, but if you've known me less than five minutes and are offering me a foot massage, my creep detector goes on alert. He was also just annoying and wouldn't shut up when I really didn't want to talk to him.

Shaggy on the other hand, where does one start. Like the name implies he looked like Shaggy from Scooby, he was also a mooch, and just a hangeron. Later we found out, that many people really didn't like him as he totally missed the spirit of the whole thing and was complaining about things that he had no business complaining about, and made us feel like we were being attacked. Later I may write more about him, but right now my wrist is acting up again, and I am tired as heck.. Damn Mondays, why can't they stay the hell away from me.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Stupid GL bashing fanboys, mooching idiotic guest who look like Shaggy
Thankful For: An Awesome mini vacation, and the autograph of a truly delightfut actor- Walter Koenig
Music of the mind: : That gawdawful annoying Dizzy music from Raven's show

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads