Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

2nd Place - The art of good sportsmanship

19.01.02 @ 16:24
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

The big Pinewood Derby is officially over for yet another year. All over West Fargo you can hear a collective sigh of relief being breathed. Warren came in 2nd Place in the Wolf Pack. In the end it was neck and neck between him and another boy, I'll call B*. The races are run on a double elimination to make if fair. Warren just missed getting first by less than a fraction of an inch. When you are only 8 years old and you frustrate easily this is not an easy thing to deal with. It is especially hard if you have your heart set on a trophy and they only give trophies to the first place winners. (Personally I think they should also give prizes for second, third etc.. After all winning first isn't everything.)

I have also posted pictures from the events of the day. I had to edit the first one, after I uploaded it, because I realized the flag he was in front of had the pack number, church name, and location. I don't really think the whole wide world needs that much information. They also aren't in chronological order, but just happened to upload that way, and make more sense that way.

Warren was up in the second race, and the first time he lost (to the kid who later won). This had him really down becaue he thought he was out of it. But since it was double elimination he got to go again in he second round. This is when he started winning all of his races. I had some pics but they didn't come out right for some reason. (I am also going to get the film pics developed soon, hopefully I might have some better pics there. The races were all great, often the winner was only winning by less than a second. He was winning and winning and then bam, as we all learn sooner or later, eventually you will loose.

Warren was very unhappy with this turn of events. He crumpled up his ribbon and decided it was time to go home. I however decided this was good teaching time and made him stay, as I feel kids need to learn loosing with dignity and winning with grace. He was clearly upset and getting mad for awhile, but then he calmed himself down appeared to be enjoying the rest of the race.

I of course am staring to feel all maternal and proud of myself for having taught my son a good lesson. Then they had the final race, between the first place winners. This was the race for the big trophy. I guess it was too much for Warren to handle as he stommped off after the race mad and upset because he "never wins ever, and its not fair. I lost...." I stayed a few moments longer and then gathered up all our stuff and found Warren in the car sulking.

We got home and he was still upset. He had been very angry and hurt in the car.

Once we got home he started to calm down and while we were laying down on the bed to relax a bit, he snuggled up with me and fell asleep. Actually he is laying next to me right now still sleeping. Apparently today was a big long hard day. He had worked late with his dad on the car, and was up early as he was so excited we were at the Church almost an hour before the meeting. I of course was up at 6 to make sure I had his uniform ready and that I had my cheesy tators all baked and crock-potted and ready to go. (they were a big hit by the way, at least with the grownups, kids as we know prefer sugar snaks, chips and assorted deep fried things, and hot dogs).

They also did the awards before the derby, but none of the wolves got thier patches or beads. All of them still need Bobcat patches and Warren should have several beads comming as he is close to getting his Wolf patch also. I think that was not very fair as they have been working hard and deserve some recognition. Warren especially needs the self esteem boost.

Time to end this, as the Wolf has finally awakened from his nap.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads