Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Non sequitors, and North Dakota my home sweet home

24.05.03 @ 22:40
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Non-sequitor of the day After verifying customer address and phone number...
ME:And would you like to provide us with an email address for order/shipping confirmations or special offers?
CUSTOMER:No thanks. I have a credit card. I'll just use that.
ME: thinking to selfWTF-huh?
Sometimes I really don't understand people at all. And she was not the first person to give me that response either.

I also talked to a customer who clearly flunked American Geography..(some of it is also based on a couple of other customers I have talked to. But it is quite typical none the less.

CUSTOMER:So where are you located?
ME:We are based out of Fargo, ND.
CUSTOMER:WOW really!! North Dakota, Where is that? Is that near Illinois? ME:Trying to answer her question with out giving away my estimation of her intelligenceUm no, we are up North.
CUSTOMER:Where are you by? ME:Well we are bordered on the North by Canada, on the South by South Dakota and East is Minnesota and out on the West is Montana.
CUSTOMER:I can hear the wheels spinning nowOhhh, do you still have Indians? You have Indians there don't you.
ME>Trying very hard not to laugh, or insult this wonder of public education. Umm Yes we do have a large Native American population, but they live the same way as everyone else.
CUSTOMER:Really!! I bet its really cold up there, you must get tired of all the cold. You poor thing..How did you get stuck in ND?
ME:Actually yes we do get some very cold winters, it also gets very hot here in the summer time. I have lived here all my life, and don't really know what it is like to live any place else.
CUSTOMER:What is the weather like? Its 80 degrees and sunny here in (fill in warm state of your choice, NC, HI, FL, CA, take your pick..).
ME: It was raining when I came in, I think the temp was in the 50's or 60's. But the sun is comming out now. CUSTOMER:Brr... that's cold..
Okay I realize I don't live in Los Angeles or Boston, or Seattle or someother town/state that everyone is familiar with and knows well. Don't even get me started on the movie Fargo, (which strangely enough takes place almost entirely in Minnesota save for a couple of scenes - go figure), which has given us an even stranger rep than we already have.

Yes some people talk like that, but most don't. Yes we are very friendly and open, but that is slowly changing as the perverts and riff raff are comming here in larger numbers ruining it for everyone else.

I wonder if anyone who is not from ND (OR MN, MT,SD, SK, or Manitoba) could even answer a few of the following questions about ND. Basic knowledge of the state type questions.

1.What is the Capital of ND?
2.What is the largest city in ND?
3.What crops is ND famous for?
4.Name one major river that runs through ND
5.Name one famous person born in ND? (There are several actually, and if you are a major baseball fan, boxing fan, or accordian music lover, or fan of teenage blues players, you have an advantage)
Yes I make jokes and bad comments about ND. I have lived in this state my entire life. I think I am a little more qualified to judge it then someone who has never been here, or can't even find it on a freaking map. I may get mad at her, and frustrated with her, but she is my home, and she has also been very good to me. Please don't judge a place unless you have actually been there and spent some time there. Its only fair.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads