Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Falling from the Cliffs of Insanity

Thursday, Aug. 07, 2003 @ 10:34 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Have I mentioned that I love my mommy. She sent me not one but two checks for my birthday. Granted most of the money will be forewarded to the elecric company and the phone company and other ugly places, but I am still planning to enjoy some of it.

I went to Barnes and Noble tonight after dropping Warren off. (His canceled camping trip was rescheduled for tonight, so while I sipped coke and read about Birth Order, he was out at Lindenwood roasting marshmellows, and setting up a tent)I was supposed to go to B&N last night to meet with K*, but I had a total brain dump and completely flaked out on her. She called me and was going to come over but I never heard the door bell, because I am totally braindead this week, and was too busy pillow fighting with my son.

I must say being able to sit and read and enjoy a soda and a toffee bar, without a single "momcanI" or a "momIwanna" was very refreshing and enjoyable. It was a major boost. I treated my self to a birthday present, courtesy my mom. A new copy (well newstand new) of the Star Wars Insider, and a new released version of Goldman's version of The Princess Bride. (I LOVE that book and the movie!!!), and a copy of Solaris (the book, not the mishmashed Clooney movie, which was so-so). I wish I would have had fewer bills and more cash. I could have easily spent over $100 without even trying.

It was also quite intersting to read the card my mom sent me. It was one of those book-style cards detailing highlights from the year your were born, in my case 1969. It was actually quite intersting. In 34 years gas has gone from $.35 a gallon to $1.59 (here in FM area- for highest), yet a gallon of milk has only gone from $1.26 to about $2.89. Minimum wage from $1.60 to $6.50 (I think, I'm not sure what the exact number is right now) Not hard to figure out where the money is, and what is valued in this country. But then as a farmer's daughter I am more than a little biased on this subject. I could go on and on just on my dad's rantings alone..but I'll save that for another day.. People all love to eat, but most city people have no clue how much work goes in to getting that food into their clean air conditioned grocery stores. Or even where that box of macaroni comes from. Durum?? Isn't that is city in North Carolina? I tell you, working on a farm for a week should be a required class, for all city folk..Most of them would give up food entirely (esp meat, if you have never seen a meat plant or a freshly butchered animal you have no idea)if they saw it in its natural un-pretified state...A truck full of grain mixed with grasshopper parts and mouse droppings defintaly will not make one want to run out and buy spaghetti or bread...(most gets cleaned out, but a small perscentage is allowable and unavoidable..so vegan's beware you are probably still eating bug parts..and mouse poo..hahahhahaha!!!) but I really will shut up now.

On the brightside, they left out the major lowlight of that year, one of the worst murders in history had to happen on the same night I was born. When I first read about Charles Manson I was a freaked and repulsed, yet mysteriously intriqued as everyone else. But when I read that his "people" murdered a very pregnant lady on the same night I was born, with in a few hours of when I was born, well freaked doesn't even begin to cover it. I know many others were born that night, but for some reason that tidbit has always haunted me.

Right now I am starving even though I had supper. I forgot my cash card at home this morning I had $.25 on me, and only a bowl of left over chow mein in the fridge at work. I was dying by the time I got off, then I had to pick up Warren, come home, feed him, pack him, load the car and be back at daycare in less than an hour. After that I ran to the bank, then to B&N where I had a coke and a Toffee bar. I didn't want to spend the astronomical prices they ask, but I live to read. So now I am home in front of the 'puter attempting to ignore the can of Pringles downstairs that is calling me like a siren summoning a sailor to his doom. What this means is I will now end this diary so I can stuff my face and Re-read The (abriged) Goldman version of the Princess Bride. I have only had a chance to read this book once before. But I loved it then, and am thrilled to find out there is actually also a sequel called "Buttercups baby" Considering this is the guy who also wrote Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid ("Use enough dynamite there Butch?") another of my favorites I figure it has to be good. I know he didn't actually "write" PB, but he made it quite wonderful. Someday I will have to force myself to read the original Morgenstern version if I can find one not in Florish. (BTW..stupid question...where exactly IS Florin anyway?)..

The Pringles have won..until later...Beware the six fingered man..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads