Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Need me some Knepfla Soup

28.03.02 @ 11:25
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Last night Warren and I decided to go to Kroll's for supper. We havent' eaten there in a while, I wasn't in the mood too cook, and Warren decided he had a craving for Knepfla Soup. I guess my childhood is comming back to haunt me. When I was little I never appreciated all the German Russian dishes my mom would make. (I still have nightmares about borsht) But I still love me some K�sknepfla whenever I can get some. My mom used to make them for me when I was in college. I would keep them in the fridge (her's were stuffed with a cottage cheese/cinnamon type filling) and toast them up for breakfast or a snack. (Beats a pop tart or even a toaster strudel hands down, NO CONTEST). Right now I have a major craving for Kuchen. My cousin has the most kick ass recipe for it, but it is also about 1000 calories a bite due to all the cream and sugar. I love being a German Russian. I feel sorry for those who don't have such yummy foods in their ethnic food history.

Warren had a fit on the way home from school yesterday. He asked if he could play out front, I thought he meant at home and said yes. Turns out he meant at school. I wasn't about to sit in the car for an hour thumb didling while he played in the (what little was left of) snowbank out front. This of course left him feeling, shall we say rather angry at me. Later he got it together, so we did wind up having a very nice dinner. He even taught me how to play Golf (the card game). Then we played War. He of course had more than he could eat, as the soup bowls at Kroll's tend to be on the large side. But they do make the world's second best Knepfla. (the first being my Mom's, except that she likes to be different and her recipe is on that has cabbage in it sometimes, then ick). I am thinking I may get all homey and make some knepfla myself. Who knows maybe I'll even get my moms recipe for K�sknepfla, and really get German happy. (Side note I also love Scandanavian cooking with the exception of certain stinky fish dishes. However I can't afford all the irons and such to make good Krumkake, Sandbakke or Rosettes (my personal favorite) with out the right equipment.

Okay, enough with the enough wandering thru recipe wonderland. Warren is at his Dad's today as I have to work and I have no one else right now for childcare. I still need to call K*. However I hope she can start him Monday instead of Wednesday. As I need a full day care for Monday and Tuesday. Warren has no school until Wednesday, and one of our techs from our client is flying in from Oakland all next week. Since we are no officially going to be taking over Level 2 as of May 1, we have a lot of training and reshuffling to get done. I for one can't wait to see J*Man. He is one of those people who can't be described. He is straight, but very effeminate. A very funny outgoing, rather one of a kind type of person.

I am also just starting to get the hang of this new phone. I never knew one could have so many buttons on a telehpone. This one does everything but pay the phone bill, or at least it does if the person operating it has a clue what they are doing. Right now I feel good if I transfer a call ,and manage not to hang up on anybody.

I think I will be stopping for some half -n- half on my way home. I have a sudden craving for knepfla soup. I may even spice it up a bit and add some chicken or ham to it. It already has dumplings so I won't even need bread. Man I love those thrify German- Russians, they really knew how to take a few handfuls of nothing and make something yummy. I am already hungry just thinking about it. I also need to find time to play Easter Bunny. Warren wants BayBlades. (they are like a customizable Top, from heck!!). We have a rather progressive Easter Bunny at our house.

Hey Look, its almost 11:30 am . Time for lunch. Laters

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads