Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Roasted to perfection, my son looks like a New England Lobster

04.07.03 @ 09:48
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I now know what a roast beef feels like, just before dinner. Since I had to work today, Warren and I had a sort of celebration yesterday. We spent the day at the pool (WF is lucky enough to have a free pool). We had a blast and I discovered that all the stuff I used to do to Warren such as piggy back rides and picking him up and flipping him in the water, he has now gotten strong enough to turn around and do back to mean old mommy. We had a blast and we are both fully cooked. Warren more so than I. I can lift my arms and wear a bra, if its a loose fitting one. My face looks like I was too close to the microwave, but my arms look golden delicious. I know the sun must have been really working over time, because even my leggs have color and usually I could stick them in the over with out so much as a how do you do.

But it was fun. I haven't been to a pool since sometime last summer, so it was great. Its amazing how no matter how warm it is, the pool always feels much cooler. I also learned a fundamental personlity difference between Warren and I . I put my feet in first and gradually get acclimated to the pool. Warren on the other hand, just runs up and does a full cannon ball in, smiling with delight the whole time. I've noticed that outside of the pool as well. I try to be cautious and check things out, and take care. Warren doesn't bother to look, and just goes feet first whole body into it. Not that that is neccessarily a bad thing when you are a ten year old boy, but it scares quite a bit more grey hair onto your head if you happen to be the worrying mother type.

I always new Warren could swim like Aqua Man, but I never realized how well until I saw him go head over heels off the diving board with a very broad grin on his face, and swim to the ladder like he had been a tadpole instead of a child. The whole first time he went off I was too busy watching the ladders, the other swimmers and the lifeguards to make sure they had thier eyes on him. Wondering if I could get to the life presever in time if need be. But all was well and he did several cannon balls and back flops off the board. He had a blast, I tried to back track to when the toddler who was afraid to go in the baby pool, suddenly turned in to some sort of dolphin human hybrid. Yet another step away from mom, and out in to the real world. He thinks he's more than ready, but am I?

Then the big question came up, "Mom why dont' you go off the diving board, I dare you". "Um no dear, I really don't feel like going to the hospital, nor do the life guards want to have to jump in and pull my oversized carcus out, when I start floundering like a whale with his blowhole jammed. Yes I can swim, so-so, but a couple of near drowning incidents in my younger years has left me with well shal we say some issues regaarding any water that is too deep for me to stand up right in.

Then in the evening, we ran into "Katrina" a girl who used to go to one of Warren's previous daycare's. The daycare we both liked the most. (they had to close down, but its a long story). She is about 5 or 6 maybe. The cutest, sweetestm bubbliest, most out going girl, who from the day she met me, for some reason decided to attach herself to me when ever she sees me. She doesn't call me by name, only by Warren'sMom. "Hey Warren'sMom, come play with me, you can be my swimming teacher" "I'm okay for awhile, I'm playing with Warren'sMom." I didn't mind, that she once again attached her self to me, but that there were no adults or others playing with her in the pool, and that she had to plug her ear because of an ear infection (which in my book means NO POOL!!!), but then afterwards when we left, I saw her get on her bike and ride home. I can only assume since her much older brother (like high school) was there, that he was close and that they must live nearby. But still. It pains me that someone so easy to love and so out going is the kid most in danger, because a personality like hers can easily be exploited by someone with an evil mind. I mean what if I were a pedeophile or someother nut? I've never met her parents and only talked to her brother in passing? I realize this is West Fargo, but trust me, we have perverts and wierdo's just like any other city. It happens here too.

I guess that is one reason I am glad that Warren is tall and strong and not afraid to fight back and say no. They are not always desirable characteristics in a classroom, but in the real world they are character traits that can protect him. Anybody who tried to grab him, would be in for one hell of suprise, as he is a big and strong as some grownups. I realize he is still a child and could be lied to or misled, which is why we are always talking about what to do if. But it stills scare's me. And he just doesn't understand at his age, how dangerous it can be. He still thinks he is immortal, and able to handle anything. The fact that he can't be allowed to think that, is one of the saddest things of all.

Okay I didn't quite expect that little rant to work out in this entry, but I guess it felt it needed to be said.

Happy 4th of July

to all my American readers where ever they may be. Have a safe and happy Independence day. And remember me as you are out having fun, while I am trapped in the bowels of Vitamin Hell talking to stupid people.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads