Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

A Christmas Entry

22.12.01 @ 08:44
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Yesterday it was sooo slow at work in the afternoon I got to leave early. I actually got the last of my Christmas stuff done, well except for the dinner shopping. It is just the two of us, (maybe three, but I'd rather not go there, I'm just not ready for that yet. See Turkey day entries for what I'm talking about. Its early and I am too lazy to look it up for linking). Remind me to bitch one last time about how much I hate holiday shopping. I picked up a gift for my mom and brother at Hickory Farms and then stopped at Stabo's over priced Scandanavian imports to put together a gift box for my Aunt Nina. (The one who sent the gift card to Kohls. She is my Dad's sister and my only link left with that side of the family). I picked out some Cloudberry Jelly and some Ligonberry jelly (I should have got some of that to keep). I also got some Lefse (well sorta like lefsa, only dried, some mix for Frotsup (can't spell either) and I think Rumgrot, and some napkins that say Velkomen on them, and a box of "Norwegian Fortune cookies". The cookies are just a standard fortune cookie with Ole and Lena jokes instead of fortunes. The reason for this is, native heritiage is a big deal around here, especially in my family. My Granpa came over from Sweden, and my grandmothers parents came over from Norway. I still have relatives in both countries. At least I was kind and didnt' try to mail some Lutefisk. If you don't know what that is, consider yourself lucky. They had some wonderful Rosmalled items and some other neat items, like sweaters, but sadly they all came with price tags that would require a second mortgage.

After shopping I took my packages to the mailing place. I almost swallowed my self when I found out how much it would cost to mail them. Yet another reason for hating the holidays. People have you by the personals and they take every advantage of it. I spent as much on postage as I did on one gift. At least that is over with.

Then I went to Toys R Us, to by a gift for the Warren Monster. A person could get seriously lost in that store, and they wouldnt know it or care. I found exactly the type of gift I was looking for. Something I know he will love, and I can feel good about getting him. I've already mentioned my hatred for fancy smancy toys that do everything but pay for themselves and require zero brain effort or creativity to play with. I bought him a small starter set of K'nex as the bigger nicer sets are currently out of my price range. I also bought him a small sience set. I wanted a bigger better one, but some of them looked like they might be a bit too advanced. The telescope would have been way to pricey and he already has a microscope. Yes my son has his own microscope. His dad bought it for him. It is not a fancy one, but it does work and it is cool. Its not hard to figure out how he got to be a science whiz. Science is his second favorite class, right after gym. I just wish they had a more hands on approach. Worksheets and reading just aren't appropriate at this age. Frankly I don't really like them in science class at all. Science is about discovery and learning how things work. These lessons make more sense and stick better when they are learned by doing, not by boring reading. I am convinced that is why so many kids wind up not liking science classes. They just never had a good teacher or a chance to see how much fun it can really be. Besides it was the only class where I ever got to blow things up and get credit for it.

I need to get in the shower. Today we are going to get tickets for LOTR. I need to get to the bank first. We are also going to do a bit of shopping (ick) and then maybe eat dinner at McD's. Some one (Warren) got a bunch of McDollars for Christmas from school. But first I need to shower I can't go anywhere looking like this, at least not unless it were Halloween season.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads