Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

My first concussion

Saturday, Apr. 11, 2009 @ 9:06 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com


I was about 5 or 6, which means David would have been about 7 or 8. We were watching tv together, some afterschool cartoons no doubt. I was in a 'mood' as even then I had them. For reason still not clear, I kept moving in front of him to block his view of the television. He would move, I would move. Eventually he got piss and shoved me out of the way. I wound up doinking my head on the china hutch and getting a big dent( I don't recall any blood)and David was in big trouble.


We used to play together alot when my parents would go to Williston to shop, take care of business and after my grandfather passed away and my grandmother could no longer take care of herself; to check on my grandmother. All things which are easiest done with out a preschooler and a fussy infant (Little brother) in tow.


His mom and my mom were sisters, only a few years apart. They lived in Williston for many years (my mom and Hedy used to room together before they got married off). They used to come out to the farm for holidays and such, my folks watched Rex (older son) and David a few times while Aunt Hedy and Uncle Kay when on vacation.


I think a lot of my early inclinations towards tomboyism comes from those early days. In some ways he was almost like an annoying older brother.


Uncle Kay worked for the oil fields and when the oil boom in western ND went bust they moved with his job to Casper Wyomming. I think I was maybe 8 or 9 at the time. They still came to visit a few times (my Aunt being the only sibling at that time not in ND) and we went to visit once. But it wasnt' the same. We were cousins and we had fun, but it wasn't the same as before. We were just distant relatives who occasionally had fun together. I still laugh when I remember him making root beer come out of his nose, getting car sick in the back seat, sneaking around (with me) at night to raid the refrigerator and liberate the left over whipped cream and pumpkin pie along with other desserts.


My Aunt is hard to describe, she is a fun loving, chiminey smoking, hard working Catholic Girl who married a non practicing Mormon Rocky Mountain Good Old Boy with a wild sense of humor and a zero tolerance for bullshit. She is still one of my favorite Aunties (along with my Mom's other close sisters Maggie and Floretta and my Dad's sister Nina, I never knew my mom's brothers or their wives very well).


I used to love being at their house. After several years in WY, my uncle again was transferred this time to New Mexico where they still live.


David had trouble in school and eventually developed a drug problem. Among other things he wrecked his motorcycle doing major damage to his leg and eventually wound up serving time. He turned his life around, got clean, got an electricians license and last I heard was living well in Los Angeles working as an electrician. My cousin Rex his brother was the polar opposite, good grades, suma cum laude high paying job the works.


Imagine my shock when I got a call from my mother about a week ago that David was found dead in Vancover Washington and that nobody knows yet what happened. He had apparently quit or lost his job, had lived at home for awhile and then left. They hadn't heard from him for sometime until the authorities from Washington called.


I don't know anyother details and from the sounds of it, noone does yet. Rex his older brother is flying out to get his ashes (the family had him creamated) and his belonings inluding his truck and hopefully the true story of what happened.


I'm just stunned. I hadn't seen or talked to him in probably 25 years, but he was only 2 years older than me, and despite all his problems was a heck of a cool guy, who is a large part of who I am. I can't stop thinking about it, despite all the crap that is going on here right now (believe me I am chin deep in it right now, and I am NOT referring to flood water).


How do you forget your first concussion. I also have scars on my chin from thier old house, where I fell on the heat register when I was a toddler just learning to walk. I guess it was a dangerous place. I remember riding bikes up and down the street when my mom was having my brother and my aunt was in charge of me. I remember climbing trees in our yard with Rex and David and well lets just say they also gave me my first accidental lesson in sex ed (relax we were little kids out playing and modesty hadn't quite hit our radar screens yet).


It's amazing how much you can miss someone you haven't seen since Reagan was in office.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads