Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Right Turn Clyde

Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009 @ 5:56 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I'm not normally a movie cryer. No matter how tear jerky the movie may be I usually never get more than a lump or two.

I didn't cry yesterday when Warren and I went to see Grand Torino, but I came damn close. It is one of the best movies I have seen in ages. Definately not for the little one's, but excellent none the less.

Once again Clint Eastwood proves he is still the tops, especially when he does what he does best which is be Clint Eastwood. He's not as young as he used to be, and unlike many of his peers, he doesn't pretend to be. Which makes him all that much more likeable.

In the beginning there isn't much to like about his character, but it soons becomes apparent that the cover is very decieving about the book. He has very good reasons for why he is the way he is, and he is indeed very human, more human than most. Think a crochety but likeable 80 year old love child of Dirty Harry and Archie Bunker.

I could totally relate to his relationship with Toad (Taou sp!?!), and how it took the place of the relationship he didn't have with his son. Of how no matter how different people may appear on the inside, once you really get to know them and see inside thier world, you will find you have much more in common than you ever imagined.

I love a movie that can be funny with out resorting to pratfalls, and toilet humor, but rather brings its laughs from the real world, that can tug your heartstrings with out being sappy and maudlin and that delivers a powerful message of hope, sacrifice, loyalty, and humanity with out beating its audience over the head like some r-rated after school special, or very special episode. Instead, it lets the story tell the story.

If you haven't seen this movie, run to the theatre and do so, just remember your Kleenex. I won't spoil the ending, but it is a good one.

I didn't think I would like this movie, but Warren insisted. For once I am glad I gave in. The kid has some great ideas sometimes.

It doesn't hurt that I've always been a Clint Eastwood fan.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads