Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

How the hell can it have been 15 years

Saturday, Jun. 21, 2008 @ 2:54 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

As most of you are probably already aware, yesterday was Warren's birthday. My baby boy is now 15 freaking years old. <

As a present we let him to to the DMV to get his permit {read: I drove him there}, it took two trips as I forgot his birth certificate, but we made it. I can't speak for any other states, but in North Dakota, in order to obtain a permit, you must pass the written portion of the driving exam. Warren of course thought this would be far easier than it actually was. I had a feeling he wouldn't pass, but I didn't say anything to him. Reality is a far better and harsher teacher than mom, at least sometimes.

He was pissed as hell about flunking, and venting about how the questions were unfair and didn't matter, but I think he caught on that studying will get you a lot farther than a know-it-all attitude any day of the week.

He's still waiting to hear back from the Golden Arches about his job application. It's not my first choice for him, but as a 15 year old his options are limited. The grocery stores won't hire anyone under 16, but restaurants will. He's so convinced he will make a ton of money and be able to save it all, as he has his heart set on a Mustang at a local dealership where on of his DBR staff moonlights. He even has the guys business card. I have a feeling reality is about to teach him another one of those harsh lessons, and mom will keep quiet and be there to pick up the pieces.

If somehow he does manage to save up enough money for a car, we will be having some serious talks. I would also suggest anyone with an investing type of mind buy up stock in ativan and Xanax as I'll probably be popping both like candy. The whole idea is so surreal, I mean wasn't it just last week that he still had to hold my hand to cross the street? I'm not ready for the cars, girls and part time job phase. I'm still trying to accept that he's 6ft tall, and has a fuzzy face, never mind the fact that he will be voting in 2012.

I also have to thank Poolie for reminding me of a very funny incident that happened while I was in the hospital, in labor with Warren.

I had a very hard time getting comfortable and aside from a demerol drip {damn I love that stuff. It doesn't do squat for pain, but you sure as hell don't care anymore}}, I had no meds, no epidural, no spinal. I was walking, sitting, laying down, making phone calls, and in and out of the tub.

This particular hospital {the biggest and oldest in Fargo, for you locals} has maternity rooms that look like a bedroom in somebody's home, very lovely. They also have whirlpool's in each room. I was in and out of the tub trying to get comforatable. The jets helped quite a bit, but I still could not get comfortable. That was when I had my brilliant idea {I still blame it on the demerol}. I had alwys found bubble baths relaxing, especially near the end of my pregnancy when Warren had decided to pratice his Hokey Pokey skills {I could actually see the water move and splash}. I thought why not give it a try now, the jets should make it nice and bubbly.

Talk about your understatements of the century. The whole bathroom looked like that Brady Bunch episode where Bobby tries to wash his suit. I can only say that is a good thing staff in maternity that day all had a good sense of humor. I had completely forgot about that.

Say a prayer for those in Iowa and surrounding states. My Aunt and cousin live just outside of Des Moines. They were lucky, all they got was water in the basement. Luckily my cousin lives at home to help my aunt who is having health issues and who recently broke her wrist. She is my dad's only sister and my closest living relative on that side of the family.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads