Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Circling the airport

Sunday, Jun. 08, 2008 @ 8:38 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I just love it when I have a nice slow quiet morning all to myself to do as I please and just take it easy. I really wish I could have more of those, but life as usual tends to happen most often when I am off making other plans. So I'll grab what I can, when I get the chance.

Warren had another overnight pass, and is sleeping in his own room as we speak. He looks so peaceful and quiet. Its hard to believe what he's put me thru int he last year plus. He's so tall and physically mature for his age {did I mention he has enough fuzz to start shaving very soon}, and has such a deep voice and a false male bravado it can be quite easy to forget he is still just a boy, who despite actions to the contrary really does care quite a bit what his parents think, especially his father, unfortunately.

Too bad Schiessa Vader seems to forget that, and when he is upset, use whoever is handy {namely Warren or me} to vent it out on over stupid shit, like Warren's not putting enough charcoal in the grill. Warren and Scheissa came to almost blows yesterday. As they both proceeded to act thier true age, only Warren's actually matched the calander, Mikes was about 30 years behind. Luckily he managed to get overhimself and stop acting like the whole world was trying to intentionally screw with him.

I on the other hand had a great time with Warren {don't get me wrong, we've had our arguments and go rounds plenty. I'm just finally get a hand on handling things better}. We went to Tr0llW00d, a local part in the way north part of town {used to be an excellent performing arts camp as well, before that part moved} and went hiking. It has a wonderful set of trails that winds down by the river surrounded by tree's and other native life and is just gorgeous to hang out in and go walking in. {Side note, when I die I wouldn't mind having my ashes scattered there, coffins to me are a waste of money and real estate}.

It was great exercise and a nice chance to chat about nothing in particular and get to know my son again. We were also lucky to be blessed with perfect weather. {a true rarity}.

The all time coolest part though was finding that someone had tied up a really heavy duty rope swing {the kind with no seat, just knots}, in a very high tree. I haven't swung on one of those since... thinks... never. We took turns pushing each other and having fun like when he was little and I got to relieve childhood memories I never had. I'm amazed how well I could hang on. A year and a half ago, I wouldn't have been able to hang on at all.

We could have stayed out there all afternoon, but Warren wanted to get back in case Schiessa the lazy finally woke up. We got back at 2ish and he was still sleeping.

I was just reading LA's diary about how much has changed since she started the blog. I just realized that when I started this blog back at the end of 2000 my son was a first grader, who still picked me flowers and wanted bed time stories. I was over 300 lbs and working a job I only pretended to love. Mike was a raging addict.

What a difference 8 almost 9 years makes. My son has gone from Nick Jr. to the Colbert report. From someone I could carry to some one who can carry me. I've gone from needing to heave myself out of the chair to jogging a 15 minute mile when I push myself. My ex has gone from complete waste of everything, to vaguely resembling a real human being.

The little boy who wanted to snuggle with mommy, is now having dreams of a decidedly more adult nature. The next 8 years, should hopefully be at least as interesting. Can you believe this cute little tyke will be starting high school in the fall {okay so its a separate 9th grade academy, its high school as far as I'm concerned}. He's also applying for jobs, getting ready to shave and generally reminding me how old I am, and how fast time passes.

As they say, the days are slow, but the years are fast. It was nice to have some quiet mom and Warern time, after the week from heck. Not quite hell, but close. It didn't help that I spent two hours on the phone at the end of the day with a customer from Brooklyn who while nice enough, managed to keep giving my verbal whiplash.

I hate it when people switch topics back and forth, randomly. I felt like I needed a chart to keep up with her. She's nice enough, but she's going to drive me crazy. I've talked to her before, but generally try to avoid her if I can, but sadly I can't.

So Raizy days are always a treat [that's her real name, of all things}. Of course she is from Brooklyn, which may explain a few things.

I always seem to run into that with New Yorkers, who for some reason seem to love me. I have a few customers who insist on dealing with me, and they are all NYers. Must be Schiessa's influence. Since he lived there for many years, even driving NYC taxi. {Which is why we can't drive together with out things getting ugly. I drive ND easy, he drives NY insane}.

I've learned to deal with his straight to the runway no waiting for clearance syle talking, while he's had no choice but to learn the ND way of circling the airport several times, before comming in for landing. Both of use still prefer our native style.

But enough rambling. Hope everyone has a great what's left of the weekend, before Monday's evilness kicks in, and kicks ass, until somebody kicks it back.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads