Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Televised walk down memory lane

Sunday, Aug. 05, 2007 @ 7:59 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Let's hear it for the restorative powers of a trip back to childhood (though to be honest it was much better to watch it the first time at some gawdawful early hour, just me and a giant bowl of Lucky Charms and glass of Rich and Ready (an orange beverage somewhat like Sunny Delight that was sold in gallon jugs and contained no actual orange juice). (to be honest I'm sure the short workout, followed by a nice long session at Barnes and Noble with a large Earl Grey and a decedent piece of Godive w/raspberries also helped the mood improve).

I was amazed at how good the production values were given the budget and the time, to say nothing of how less than kind time has been to some people. (Who knew Sid Haig went on to work for Rob Zombie).


The cheesy 70's hair and clothing was worth a hoot, to say nothing of the toothpaste commercial smiles. (apparently in the 38th century man has developed a hell of a dental plan).


Which of course got me to thinking about all the other cheesy shows of the 70's that we thought were "oh so cool" at the time, but which appear so cheesy by today's standards.


(oh and Purple I looked it up, StarLost was the brainchild of Harlan Ellison - I knew there was a reason it was so attractive, but he bailed out after the producers tried to change to much and thus it flopped)


I know some of my favorites were Wonder Woman, Buck Rogers (again with the space cowboy - I"m sensing a theme here, me and the Han Solo types, explains alot about my history and current lack of a love life)), The Incredible Hulk, Shazaam, Isis (far better than any stupid Power Ranger), Bay City Rollers (come one was I the only kid who woke up for rockers in kilts), Frightenstein (Another Canadian gem, educational show based on Frankenstien, Dracula etc.. complete with guest apperances by Vincent Price, how can you not love it), Electric Company, Mathnet, Dungeons and Dragons (cartoon based on the rpg), Scooby Doo, Captain Caveman, the Fantastic Four, Spiderman and his Amazing Friends, Mulligans Stew, Speed Buggy..Josie and the Pussycats (in outer space yet), Godzilla and Godzuky, Man they just dont' make kids shows like they used to. Of course I"m from the generatio for whom anime meant Astro Boy. Hell I was 9 before our town got cable and I was an adult before I had it. We lived out of town and my dad had better things to do than splurge for a giant ugly satelitte dish (they were huge then). So I had to do with 2 American channels and three or four (on good days) Canadian channels. IF we really got lucky we picked up I think it was channel 13, which was Canadian but broadcast in French.


They either make parents want to hurl, or they talk to kids like they are stupid, or they are just an excuse to sell shit, or worse some combination of the above. Speed Buggy is still funny, and I still love Jason, even if it is cheesy. Maybe I just have a bad case of nostalgia. I'm sure every generation since television thinks their kids shows were the best.


Now I"ve got a bizarre craving for Lucky Charms, or really bad pancakes (someting I used to make for our family on Saturday mornings. I loved to cook but it took me years to get the hang of pancakes. Luckily I have a tolerant family willing to eat almost anything)

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads