Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Good news / Bad news

Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 @ 2:21 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Since i've had a couple of requests. i'll go ahead an post my knoepfla recipe.

1 small onion

3/4 cup or so of sliced carrots (I use the baby cut ones)

1 stalk celery diced into small bite size pieces

1/2 teaspon or so poultry seasoning

1 or so tbs of canola oil (the original recipe uses butter, but canola is healthier. for flavor can use half oil half butter)

2 medium potatos (russet is best)

1 cup or so of frozen dumplings (German dumplings are not like the large pillowy kind found in many chicken dishes, they are small heavy and square, some what like a gnocci. I cheat and use frozen since I can't make them from scratch very well)

1 quart (32 ounces) chicken broth

1 12ounce can evaporated milk (the original recipe uses heavy cream which is a too rich for my heart).

Saute the onions, carrots, celery and poultry seasoing in the oil, May also add diced boneless skinless chicken breast if desired. Many of the older recipes often use ham also (there are many variations). When ions are soft and translucent and carrots and celery are starting to soften add chicen broth and bring to a boil.

add in potatos and dumplings. When potatos and dumplings (thaw before cooking) are cooked thru, recduce heat to low. AS soon as soup stops boiling add evaporated milk. Simmer a few minutes to heat thru salt and peppr to taste, I also throw in a bit of parsely, but that is optional and serve. My son loves it. Recipe easily serves 3 or 4. Veggie quantities can easily be changed to fit personal tastes.

Today was a pretty good day, at least until I came home. I went to my doctor visit and my cyst had shrunk enough on its own, that I didn't need to be cut open (Can I get a hallilueah from the choir!!).

I also stopped by Wally world to pick up a few things. I tried on some clothes for a lark, and actually fit into a size smaller than I thought. I can actually get into 16W. Oh yeah. A couple more months and I can kiss plus sizes good by. The companies that make many of them think we are all girly and blind anyway. I may be large, but I hate flowers, lace, darts, low necklines an other "girly" details. I"ll be buying my tops int he men's department for some time yet, I feel. But i wore another size smaller. Go ME!!

I found the perfect shirt for Warren. Its a retro style t-shirt with a picture of a donkey on it, and the caption that reads, "I"m a smart one". It is so him.

Like I said. Things were great. Than I came home. It seems somebody in the building is getting a new toilet, so they shut off the water to the whole building and didn't bother to tell anyone. My dishes are petrifiying as we speak.

Than it I called my mom. She is battling a nasty kidney infection, but the doctores gave her some antibiotics, so hopefully she'll be better soon. My unclie is out of the hospital which is good. They don't think he has emphazima amymore which is good. But they figured out what is wrong with him. It seems he hasnt' been eating or taking care of himself. My aunt still works full time (she's in her early 70's also) and hadn't noticed. The reason he isn't caring for himself, he's been diagnosed with the early stages of altzeimers.

This guy worked hard all his life, raised three kids, and has been happily married for over 50 years. A few days ago my mom went to visit him and she isn't sure if he recognized her.

I was happy. Now I"m feeling depressed. My aunt took a leave of absense from her job, until they figure out what to do next.

**sigh**

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads