Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Holy Smokes!!

Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004 @ 1:52 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Well the good news, is my ear is almost back to normal. According to the doctor, its just a cyst. I seem to be going into the cyst business. It still a little swollen, but not nearly what it was before. It doesn't hurt so much either. If the others dont' go away in a couple weeks, I can see my regular doctor.

My arm and knee look gross but seem to be healing pretty well. I just need to keep them clean and moist. I can move better too, though the other arm hurts now from the tetnus shot. (better safe than sorry. Warren was in diapers the last time I had one, due to meat slicer that mistook my finger for a small salami).

I've had my excitement quota for the week last night also. I love that I have a smart child who wants to investigate and experiment, honest I do. At least most of the time.

Last night after Warren and I had sort of made up from an argument (one of those one minute we were having a nice conversation the next minute he had an attitude issue and we werent' type deals), I was in the bedroom relaxing and watching news. Warren was out in the living room/kitchen. I heard in him in the kitchen and some clanging, and water running. Than silence. A little while later there is a whole lot of noise and flurry. I see briefly see bright orange light and smell something I really shouldnt' be smelling.

I asked the eternal mom question, "What's going on out there?"

Followed by

"Nothing..Nothing you need to worry about, I've got everythign under control".

Which any vetran mom knows translates as

"Danger will Robinson, we have an emergency here, and you better get out here like 5 minutes ago".

Yes it seems my son, the future nuclear scientist (should he live that long) had heard somethign about sediment in city water so he was going to boil some water dry to see what was left in the pan. (My new pan by the way). He had the burner up high andin the process had managed to knock a bottle of canola oil off the back of the stove and the cap being loose fell off, so there was oil spilled on the very hot burner.

I think most people who've passed kitchen disasters 101 (how to make your mothers pulse adn blood pressure double in under 30 seconds) can guess what happened next.

Warren in his 13 years of wisdom was smart enough to shut off the burner, but not smart enough to realize that water + grease fire = very bad idea.

Fortunately it was a small fire that put itself out, and didnt' do any damage other than make the whole apartment smell like old deep fryer. I was able to clean off the stove rather quickly and give Warren the "Why we always inform mom of emergencies and don't do experiments on the stove" lecture along with the "intro to house fires 105" talk about the proper way to put out grease fires and the dangers that can happen when one isn't careful.

I'm just glad I was home. Though he did tel me he wouldn't have been experimenting on the stove had I not been home. (Let's hope, but I know how I was at 13, and that scares me).

I did notice a bit of soot on the exhaust fan over the stove and it took a while to get the smoke out of the house, but thankfully it wasn't even enough to set off the smoke alarm, just enough to push my panic button.

I also had a serious heart to heart with him about how much we could have lost, not to mention how many other innocent people could have been put out of home. I know it was an accident and he wasn't trying to start a fire, though he was the last one to use the oil (to lubricate something), so it was his fault the cap wasn't on tight. I know it could have happened to me. I just can't remember being that scared in sometime. But I'm breathing again.

Let's hope tonight is quiet. I need a break.

In good news, I dropped the two pounds I gained.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads