Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

A Cosmic Meme

Thursday, Jan. 19, 2006 @ 8:03 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Thanks for all the comments on my last entry. I'm glad to know Warren isn't the only one out there with skin issues. The ointment and the other changes we've made seem to be helping. He is looking much better. I had used the vinegar in the rinse water before, but havne't for awhile. I think I am going to try that. Seeing as I have no idea who used the washing machine before we moved in here, there could also be a lot of residue I need to clean out. I've also ordered some Omega-3 softgels from work (I get everything at cost - I can't remember the last time I paid full price for any supplement or otc pharmaceutical item - don't get me started on the mark up on those items). I'm also going to start adding more cold water fish (salmon, tuna, halibut etc..) to our diet. Vitamin E helps alot with skin issues, but a lack of Omega-3 can make a difference in skin as well as behavior and other health issues. We both love fish, but living in the middle of the continent getting seafood can be tres expensive. On the plus side, the benadryl seems to be helping him sleep a little better at night.

Oh and I never use the full amount of detergent. It actually makes the close dirt magnets. Using less actually works better for me. I just pre-treat any tough areas and use 1/4 to 1/2 what the detergent sellers recommend. I also have my machine set for an extra rinse to get out everything.

The ever wonderful Cosmic, had a great meme, so I am going to steal it, with permission.

List 5 aromas that bring back wonderful childhood memories and 5 aromas that bring back not so wonderful memories. Then �Splain it Lucy

Wonderful Memories

1. Aqua Velva - I know its not the greatest aftershave in the world, but both my Dad and Granpa were Aqua Velva men. Whenever I smell it, I think of them.

2. Lysol - not the stuff in the Pine Sol like bottle or the spray stuff, but the original in the dark brown and yellow bottle, the redish stuff with a one of a kind scent. It's always been one of my favorite smells since I can remember, I always associate it with clean. I'm not entirely sure why but the smell always reminds of when I was about 4 and I had put my foot inside an old lazy boy type chair we had and managed to snag a nail with my heal (I still have the scar). For some reason my memory has my foot soaking in Lysol, but that can't be right? Can it?. Even now sometimes I"ll get nostalic and buy it to clean just for the smell. I don't like how it cleans, but I love the smell.

3. Onions and celery sauteing in butter - the minute I smell this combination I am a child back home on the farm waking up on Thanksgiving morning to my mom cooking the worlds greatest meal. It takes me back to a time when holidays were a fun diversion and a day off from school to do nothing, back before it was my responsiblity to work out the meal, travel logistics, etc.. It also reminds me of my mom's cooking.

4. New crayons and dittoed/mimeographed worksheets - I realize if you are under 35 you probably have no idea what dittoed worksheets are, but back in the days before Xerox was common place there were ditto machines. I dont' remember exactly how they worked, but I remember whenever the teacher would hand them out, every kid would pick them up and smell them. The new crayon smell always reminds me of shopping for school supplies in the fall. I was never a fan of school in elementary, but I loved paper, pencils, crayons, etc.. It was always a treat to get new stuff every year, it was like an early Christmas.

5.J&J Baby Shampoo Takes me way back to when I was little and my mom would bathe me at night and then read me a story before tucking me in. It was the only shampoo my mom used on me when I was little, so my hair always smelled like it. I used to use it on Warren just for the smell, that and the no more tears. I have the same association with thier detangling spray, my mom also used to use, as I had long hair, I refused to let her cut, but I also hated to have the snarls brushed/combed out.

Not so wonderful

1. The smell of burning (rubbing) alchohol/burning hair - reminds me of when it was chicken butchering time on the farm, as the burning alchohol was what my parents used to remove the last of the pin feathers and hairs from the chickens. Some of my earliest memories involve watching my folks butcher chickens. When I was little it didn't bother, or so I thought. When I was in early elementry school I used to have night mares about our table and kitchen covered with people's heads.

2. Bananas I have no idea why, but even smelling the breathe of someone who ate one recently makes me nausaues. I don't have any bad memories to my knowledge, but as long as I can remember it has made me gag. My mother says it just started out of the blue when I was a toddler, and one day just refused to touch them.

3. Beer, or worse beer and toothpaste combined My folks rarely if ever drank (my mom not at all), but occassionally my dad would have friends over who drank. Though I didn't really come to loathe the smell until Mike came into my life, now it just reminds me of all the times Mike would come home drunk and horny and wonder why I wasn't interested. Beer breath stinks like hell, and all the toothpaste and mouthwash in the world won't fix it, it only makes it worse, much much worse.

4. Tobacco smoke of any kind While my mom quit smoking before I was born, my dad smoked disgusting cigars until I was at least 4 or 5. I have had respirtory allergies as long as I can remember and the smell really makes me ill. I also have a vague memory of being in the clinic when I was around preschool age (this was back in the days when smoking was more or less allowed everywhere), and there was a fresh butt still smoking in the ashtray. I remember picking it up and trying to smoke..Let's just say that cured me of smoking for life, and it wasn't anything my mom did, it was very much a self inflicted lesson. Sadly now the smell of smoke also reminds me of my ex and of a job I hated where the breakroom was yellow from so many smokers.

5. cooking cabbage, or any cooking greens Reminds me of some of the things my mom used to try and make us eat when we were little. I love raw cabbage, or even the occassional cabbage roll, but any other cooked, cabbage, spinach or other leafy green item, makes me loose my appetite. My mom learned to stop making these items real fast as my father would eat almost anything, but my brother and I would voluntarily put our selves to bed with out dinner before eating cabbage soup (a sort of beetless borsht), or boiled spinach, kale etc.. The minute I smell it, all I can think of is a plate of something that looks like it was scrapped off a ship or found on a lake.

I'm so proud of my self. I have gotten my self down to one 20 oz soda a day (from I don't want to think how much before). I've cut out quite a bit of fat, added more veggies and cut my portion size in half. I've also cut out the candy and junk food, and taken to eating a handful or two of nuts as a snack instead. I've added more fiber and whole grains. I haven't weighed myself, but I think it is working as my clothes are definately fitting looser, I have way more energy and my afternoon slumps are much less slumpier. Its a tough process, I've always been one of those people that lived by the rule "You dont' need crack as long as you have a sugar bowl in the house". Sugar, starches and simple carbs are my drugs of choice. Getting them out of me, is going to be hard. But this time I am not going cold turkey like I did before. At this point, something like that could have me homicidal in hurry. Baby steps, I tell myself, baby steps. I love junk food, but I love my son more, and I want to be around when he is an adult. That cant' happen if my BP and Cholesterol zoom off the charts.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads