Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Early morning ramblings

Wednesday, Nov. 09, 2005 @ 6:07 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I wish my damn biological clock would reset itself already. I thought I was finally reset yesterday when I slept in, but today it is back to its old off kilter self. I am tired of popping awake at 5 am, when I used to be able to sleep until at least 6. By 9pm I am so exhausted I can't see straight. Hard to believe in high school and college I would go for weeks on only 3 or 4 hours of sleep a night. If I did that now, I think it would kill me.

Poor Warren! At his physical last night, he ended up with three shots, (menningitis, DTP, and the flu shot) than he had to go get blood taken for cholesterol and glucose tests (non fasting), and since the poor kid was unlucky enough to inherit my uncooperative veins, they had to take it from his hand. He was a total trooper though. The phlebotomist was a really cool guy, and it turns out he is also a Valley Con fan/goer. What a small world (*well duh, this is Fargo-Moorhead). Yesterday was also another small milestone, in that it was the first physical Warren had where I was out of the room. I can totally understand that at his age, boys don't want their moms in the room and thankfully the guy we had subbing for his regular ped, was a male doctor, because teenage boys are very embarrased at the thought of being examined by a women. (I hear him on that, it took me a long time to get used to the idea of having a strange man checking out my privates). We also had a good talk with his dr. and I think I have a better idea of some of what is going on with my son. I'm not sure how to deal with some of it, but I think I am startin to understand more.

He is a very intuitive kid. At 12 he has already figured out that when he is stressed or depressed his rash acts up. Too bad the pharmacy was out of his cream, so he will have to wait until tonight.

After his checkup, we also hit the grocery store. I've decided that instead of fighting him on food issues, I'm going to use him to my advantage. He wants to eat healthier as well. So we went to the produce department and picked out a new veggie, one that we haven't really had very much. In this case he picked an Eggplant. At home we looked up recipies and settled on one for Eggplant Parmesean. We also found another one that used Eggplants as crepe wraps, we may try that another time. Than I had him look thru the cook book for recipes to try out later this week. He picked out one for a Medditerean Shrimp Stew. Thankfully shrimp on sale this week.

He also picked out one for a chicken and biscuits. He also made out that he hated chicken. Seems he just hates large chicken pieces or dry chicken. So I can work with that. Saturday we are going to cook the stew together. When I look at many of Warren's favorite foods, verses our ethinic background, I think somewhere along the line, a Viking ship must have gotten lost and found there way up the Medditerean. How else would a bunch of Northern/eastern Europeans be such big fans of Olive oil, parmesean, mozzarella, pasta and tomato sauces. Heaven help us, if we were to ever run out of oregano, or basil the world would screech to a halt.

He's open to new tastes, I think he just wants more of a say in things, instead of my just announcing this is what we are having and doing it all. If nothing else, by teaching him to be a good cook, at least he won't live on canned soup and frozen dinners when he finally moves out on his own. I'm actually looking forward to the fun time together.

Hopefully we can continue this, as we both need to get off the junk food, and the blue boxes of orange macaroni, and cheap hotdogs of unidentifiable origin. Warrn's blood pressure is starting to creep up, and while he has dropped a few pounds he is still overweight as am I. I can't believe he is over 5' 6" already. Wasn't it just last week I was carrying him in a snugglie, as it was the only way I could get anything done. He was the kind of baby that had to be held, or he would scream like he was being tortured, at least until I figured out he hated being on his back, and still does. He was a total tummy baby, and a total snuggle baby.. at least until he learned to walk.. at 9 and a half months.. whew!! I get exhausted just remembering it.

Oh and just for the record, Poola's not really my sister, she just adopted me, cause she is cool like that, and I've always wanted a sister. heck when I was 4 or 5, I used to look thru the phone book, even though I couldn't read, and say I was looking for my sister. Yes I was a weird kid. Does that really suprise anyone.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads