Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Welcome to the 7th Level..

Friday, Oct. 21, 2005 @ 8:52 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Yesterday Warren and I spent most of the day fighting. I can't really say why exactly, except I seemed to be in a rather bad place, and Warren's attitude wasn't helping. I should be at Valley Con, this weekend, but am I? Nope, can't afford it this year, and I so wanted to go, but it's my own damn fault. I would also love to be out in Sunny San Diego enjoying Journal Con, but that is definately not in the cards, unless they move it to Mpls next year or something. So I guess I had a bit of a bout, of the poor-me's. Warren was being annoying about the dishes he was supposed to do two days ago (they did finally get done), and being obnoxious about helping out around the house.

I was feeling resentful and really didn't want to be around anybody, but of course he seemed to want to be where I was. He also had his friend Jasper over, a really nice kid who I never mind having over as he is always so well behaved and seems to be a good influence on Warren. But the constant boing, bang, boom of the damn ps2, just seemed to get on my nerves. And I felt guilty for not wanting to be with my son. (In case you are wondering, due to Teacher's Convention the kids have a four day weekend).

After Jasper left and I had worked off some of my frustration listening to the radio and cleaning my kitchen, I made peanut butter cookies with Warren, or rather helped him make the cookies. I used to love to cook with him when he was little, and he loved learning. Somewhere along the line we lost that. Earlier in the day, I taught him how to make a simple pancake batter. The peanut butter cookies came out great. And what goes better with peanut butter cookies than a nice cold glass of .......Curds and whey? It seems the carton of milk I had picked up at SunM@rt earlier in the day, wasn't actually milk, buut rather a half gallon of cottage cheese in milk carton, okay actually it was milk that had definately past it's prime quite sometime ago, despite the fact it was over a week away from expiring, and I had just picked it up a few hours ago, and had refrigerated it immediately. I had saved the reciept, so we had to truck back to the store as it was the only milk we had, and I was more than a little upset. The store was more than happy to exchange it, and the new one was just fine. But after that, I had somehow lost my taste for milk.

I guess I've been lucky, I've only had bad food products a couple of times, both milk, once from SunM@rt and once from WalMart. Both were quickly rectified no problem.

One of my coworkers, just had a baby, okay, technically his wife just had a baby, but I just love the name they picked out, Alexander Rohan. It's amazing how many of the older names are comming back. Another coworker named her new baby, Caleb (also the name of one of Warren's half brothers). I don't feel quite so odd, now for naming my son Warren. I love names that are unusual enough to be somewhat different from the pack, but not so unusual as to have strangers questioning the sanity of the parents, or wondering what type of drugs the parents must have been on. (sorry Nicholas, naming your kid, Clark or Kent would be cool, naming him Kal-el is just puting a kick me sign on him). I wish parents would stop and think before they name the kid, after all it may sound cute now, and seem like a fun idea, but remember this person has to live with this name for the rest of thier life, and that include the evil middle school and elementary years when kids are vicious, any name can be made fun of, but some are a hell of a lot easier than others.

Tonight, I also went grocery shopping. It is also the last time I try to shop with two teenage boys. Even though they were out of my hair for most of the trip, they still managed to drive me crazy. But Old mother hubbard had a very bare cupboard, so I didn't have much choice. I didn't think I had that much, until the clerk gave me my total, $75. Yikes. This better last a long, long time.

Especially since I don't know if I am going to have a car tommorrow. I think my alternator just went to electrical heaven. My battery light has been on and off for a few days now, but the car has always worked. Tonight we just made it in the parking lot and the lights went out and the rest of the electronics (radio, heater etc..) all went out. I shut the car off and tried to restart it.. nope. Also no dome light or anything else. Just lovely.. it never rains but it pours..nothing like salt on an open wound to make an already lovely weekend that much more enjoyable. Bet you wish you were me huh?

Did I mention my computer also decided to be possesed by some sort of demon bat from hell. I ended up restoring the whole damn, os, and having to redo everything, which sucked, but on the bright side, no more demon bats.

One cute story however, less you think I'm just a whine and cheese party. Yesterday night, after staring at himself in the mirror for a long time, Warren came in to my room and turned on all the lights, than had to show me, where he thinks he is getting a mustache. Trust me when I say I have more hair on my lip than he does, I think there may have been a very light fuzz, like a shaved peach, but he is a long way from needing to shave. I shouldn't have laughed, I know he wants to grow up, but that is another milestone that can just take its time. As it is, sometimes when I look at him, I mean really look at him I feel like I am seeing him for the first time. Who is this person, this can't be the little kids whose diapers I used to change, I can't possibly be old enough to be a mother to a kid this big, and this grown? Can I? I don't remember this happening.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads