Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Say that again?

Saturday, Oct. 01, 2005 @ 4:22 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I can't remember the last time I was so greatful to have Warren fall asleep. Last night I made the mistake of letting Warren have one of his friends spend the night. His friend only lives throwing distance away, about a 1 minute walk if you cut thru the back yard. They were told up front by both moms that there was to be no all nighters and they were to get some sleep.

They are 12 and 13 and there was a PS2 with FFX. You can see where I am going with this. While both boys claim there was sleeping involved, looking at the carnage in the kitchen this morning, not to mention the disaster that was Warren's room, somehow I don't think there was a lot of sleeping involved. Being an old fuddy duddy who still remembers the 70's I was alseep by 11pm, and when I was rudely awoken at 7am I still thought it was the middle of the night.

This morning Warren "rested his eyes" for about an hour and then they went back to playing video games and talking about whatever boys that age talk about. After Jasper had to go home, he decided it was a good idea to go to Andrews, where everybody decided to go swimming (local indoor pool). Guess who's mom was volunteered to be chauffer. After two hours he called to come home and said he didn't feel well. He was going to play more PS2 at Andrews but than decided (wisely) against it. So we came home, he agreed to take his med's early and by 4pm he was out cold. I just hope Jasper's mom, doesn't decide that I run a zoo, and not let him come over anymore. Hopefully he will also get some sleep (they are in the same "class" at school, even though Jasper is and 8th grader and Warren a 6th grader, his classroom covers 6-8th, though they each work at respective grade levels.

Speaking of which, my son did excellent on Friday. He stated he wanted to prove to his teacher he could handle a last day of the week with out falling apart and he did. I'm so proud. But that isn't the best. The best is, I think somebody is finally realizing what I have known for years, despite his learning disabilities, Warren is bordering on, if not gifted and as much as he is frustrated by his inability to read at grade level, he is also bored spitless in many other classes. Friday they put him in the 8th grade math class "to even things out", or so that is what they told him. He was so exicted. No more addition mom, no more baby math, we are working on x-factors and other algebraic sounding terms. He was actually enjoying math, it was challanging him. I pray this works out. Teaching a child who is both LD and Above Average/gifted has to be one of the hardest things there is. When school first started he kept talking about how he hated it, and wanting to drop out when he was old enough. Now he is back to talking about when he goes to college, and what he is going to do when he grows up. Please let this continue.

Speaking of Warren the other day in the car twice he almsost made me drive off the road. The first time was Friday on the way back from spending his allowance/reward for doing good in school money, some how we got into a conversation about Oprah and I was saying how I have lost respect for her since she has gone from a spokesperson of regular people to a "if people say no it must be cause I'm black, not cause I'm a spoilt rich person who thinks the world revolves around me". My son looks right at me and says with out missing a beat.

Money changes everything for people..except sex.."

SCREEECH Please tell me that did not just come out of the mouth of my 12 year old son. Afterwards he was redder than a fresh vine ripened tomato, but I took two blocks to catch my breath. How old are you again?

The next time was today, when we were on the car, I think I was driving to Andrew's or something. I don't remember the whole converstation, it was something about vinegar or something, and he mentioned something about hard liquor like it was something he just normally talked about. I asked him what he could possibly know about it, and he better not have any experience. His response with out missing a beat..

You don't have to have experience with something to talk about it. You talk about sex but you aren't getting any

How old is this kid again?

It's going to be a bumpy ride, all right, if he lives that long.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Local Frat house, with numerous drug alcholol offenses trying to play innocent. Please everyone knows that place is party centra
Thankful For: He is sleeping
Music of the mind: : Listening to Meat Loaf "Objects in the Rear View Mirror"

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads