Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

"There are times when parenthood seems nothing more than feeding the hand that bites you" Peter DeVries

Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005 @ 10:41 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

"The main problem with teenagers is that they're just like their parents were at their age" Anonymous (that's what scares me)
"Raising teenagers is like nailing Jell-o to a tree" Anonymous

The young are often accused of exaggerating their troubles; they do so, very often, in the hope of making some impression upon the inertia and the immovability of the selfish old." Robertson Davies

"Another possible source of guidance for teenagers is television, but television's message has always been that the need for truth, wisdom and world peace pales by comparison with the need for a toothpaste that offers whiter teeth and fresher breath." Dave Barry

Giving money and power to government is like giving whiskey and car keys to teenage boys." P.J. O'Rourke (Amen!!)

"Young people on a lark might keep in mind that all birds, except cuckoos, build their nests before hatching their eggs" Anonymous (trust me when you do it the other way around, it sucks!)

Few things are more satisfying than seeing your children have teenagers of their own." Doug Larso (I'll ask my mom on that one)

"Like its politicians and its war, society has the teenagers it deserves" Joseph Priestly (now I'm scared)

"I think we're seeing in working mothers a change from "Thank God it's Friday" to "Thank God it's Monday." If any working mother has not experienced that feeling, her children are not adolescent." Ann Diehl

"There's nothing wrong with teenagers that reasoning with them won't aggravate" Anonymous

"When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished by how much he'd learned in seven years." Mark Twain (I can totally agree with that )

"One should guard against preaching to young people success in the customary form as the main aim in life. The most important motive for work in school and in life is pleasure in work, pleasure in its result and the knowledge of the value of the result to the community." Albert Einstein

All quotes courtesy of ThinkExist

Thank you to everybody who responded so kindly to my last whine party. Mike finally went off to jail on Thursday for 270 days with credit for 25 days served, meaning he'll be out in about 245 days. Warren seems to be doing mostly okay with this, though he did have a bad ending to an otherwise great day on Thursday. He says they are lying, but I just can't see a teacher lying about something like that (he was supposedly making faces at another classroom while on his way to his locker to get his stuff), but I usually also can tell when Warren is lying. Thing is, though if Warren could just talk about it, with out getting angry and swearing he still would have had a great day. Instead he made it worse. He is getting better at taking consequences, but when asked to talk about it, he just shuts down and all that comes out is anger.

Several comments mentioned therapy. Warren does have a councilor that he see's quite regularly, Dr. W. He is great with Warren, and one of the few people that Warren will open up to. Unfortunately my BC/BS plan limits the number of visits per year, so I try to get in as many as I can, but I also have to space them out so I can make sure not to run out before the year is over. He also see's a Pdoc (that's the one with the MD and the ability to prescribe -for those not familiar with the term), who has him on Geodon currently. It helps him sleep at night, and I noticed his appetite is much less with it (though being 12 he still eats like a human garbage disposal, though if I grew 5 inchces in 12 months I'd be hungry too). I just have to make sure I give it too him early in the evening so he falls asleep at a decent hour and can get up in the am.

In other ways he is acting like a normal, hormonally challanged adolescent. This weekend I asked him to please pick up the living room and do the few dishes that were in the sink (I'm talking 10 minutes work tops). I talked to him on the phone and reminded him. I get home and not only are the dishes still in the sink, but there are more dishes up in my room (I don't mind him watching tv there, the cable in the living room isn't working..long story) including a Coco Pebbles bowl of chocolate milk that had been out who knows how long, and at the bottom of the steps a lovely multi color confetti of Fruity Pebbles (perhaps he invited Bamm Bamm over for a party!?!). When asked about it, he rolls his eyes at me and says "I'll do it later mom". Though he did appologize for the mess, and in his defense after Thursday's incident, he later came to me and said "Thanks mom for comming to get me, and taking me home after. A lot of parents would have just let their kids be taken away to foster homes or something"

Homework is a nightly battle. His teacher prefers not to send home homework if possible, however Warren works so slow that he usually doesn't get it done in the time given, while the other kids do. (they all have special needs of some kind or other also). So he feels dumber and than is mad he has work. Trying to get him to get it done, has turned into a nightly combination of WWF meets Let's Make a Deal", with continous flow from the excuse factory, and episodes of Distraction Theatre. The child has a very high IQ, but his brain is wired such that it is very hard for him to actually show anyone, except thru talking to them, or building something. (Did I mention he connected LED lights to the speaker to blink to the music). It figures he would take after his father in the talent department. (Mike has great skills and talents, if he would only grow up and use them).

He also has my mouth. My mother's curse worked. I was a mouthy brat when I was his age, and I have now been cursed with a kid who talks to me the same way. Suddenly I know nothing, and everything I try to explain is wrong, or else I'm accused of saying the same thing too many times, or not having a clue, or worse, at 36 he thinks I'm old.

Today is my productive day. The dishes are all done, I have blankets in the wash, whites in the drier and my sheets hanging out on the line, because I love the fresh smell of sheets that have been out in the sun, with a lovely breeze. I plan to hang the blankets out also. I still need to mop my bathroom and kitchen, but I have 0 motivation.

Heck I might even light the grill for tonight, maybe. Or maybe I'll wait till this weekend. I have a craving for ribs, but have never figured out a good way to make them. If anybody has a great rib recipe send it my way.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Why are the walls by the light switches and the stairs always so damn filthy?
Thankful For: Almost an entire year free of Mike
Music of the mind: : That stupid Applebee's commercial... "something women like about a pick up man.." Ugh!

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads