Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Katrina

Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 @ 6:51 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Banners linking to the Red Cross for victims of Katrina may be found here. If you can't afford to donate money, donate some web space to get others to donate.

I realize most of us don't have large sums of money lying around to donate, with the current price of gas and other commodities most of us are barely getting by. Yet, I think most of us have more money than we may realize. How much do we spend everyday on a soda here, a Latte there, a pack of gum, a pack of cigarettes, a second beer. None of these things are necesities, they are all things we can do with out, things we would actually be better off with out. By giving up just one soda a day (out of the machine at work for example, where I work a can of pop is $.50), by giving up one can of pop a day, that is $15 a month, extra. That money could make a world of difference to somebody who hasn't had a meal or a shower in almost a week. Add in the money many of us blow on candy, smokes and other treats, and it quickly adds up to an amazing amount of cash. The least we can do for our fellow Americans is give up a beer, a candy bar, or a soda so somebody else can have something to eat.

Look in your purse most of us have coin purses, wallets etc with load so nickels, dimes and pennies. A handful of change in a donation tin, whenever we pay cash for something, or decide not to buy something may not seem like much of a donation at the given time, but if you do it everyday, sometimes twice a day you would be suprised how much money it adds up to over the course of a week or a month, enough to make a huge difference to somebody who has lost everything, while we sit in our nice comfortable homes, eating warm meals, after comming home from our jobs, all of which these people have lost. Even if it isn't a huge donation, it is enough to make a difference. If everybody who reads this diary (and I realize it may not be a huge number of people, I may have an ego, but I'm also a realist) were to give up one luxury and donate their spare change I bet it would add up to more money than most of us realize.

At work my company is matching donations dollar for dollar. While I don't have large excesses of cash I like everyone else blow money on extras I enjoy but dont really need. Instead of a soda with my lunch I drank water and donated the $.50. I also emptied out the nickels, dimes and pennies in my wallet and donated it. I can manage with out it. I have a place to live, plenty to eat, clean running water and electricity. I am also fortunte enough to know where all my loved ones are. I nearly burst into tears tonight watching a woman on tv who was separated from her 11 year old son and has no idea where he is. Another mother had a 5 day old baby and was forced to leave the hospital with her newborn, but had no home to go to.

Sadly alot of this could also have been prevented. We had a three day warning, that was plenty of time to get busses and other transports in to help with evacuating those who didn't have any way out, who couldn't afford to leave. But the United States seems to worry so much but the rest of the world (particularly when we have financial interest), that when our own people have a vital immediate need they tend to get screwed over. I'm sorry but right now we need to stop worrying about the rest of the planet for awhile and take care of our own. We need to stop being so damn proud and accept help when it is offered, now is no time for egos it is time for olive branches. People are dying, they need help NOW, not next week or whenever we can get around to it. Some of these people haven't had food, or water in days.

We need to get over ourselves, no matter how strong and powerful we think we are, Mother Nature will always remind us, just who is really in charge. It ain't us.

Stealing GolfWidow's Upcheer idea, I thought this was the cutest site I've seen in a long time.


You didn't really need to use the sink did you?

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Anyone who can watch/read/listen to what is going on and not feel something
Thankful For: Being a Landlubber, There is nothing that will ever get me to live near the coast
Music of the mind: : "City of New Orleans"

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads