Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

(pre)Teenagers are a funny species

Friday, Aug. 12, 2005 @ 5:13 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

First I want to give a huge thank you to all who were so kind as to leave me birthday wishes. I wish I had been able to read them on my birthday, but because MCI is the slowest and worst phone company on the planet I have unable to get internet access at home for a while now (or phone service for that matter). I really loved logging in and seeing all those lovely comments, it really brightened a very stressful and otherwise miserable week.

Teenagers (and almost teenagers) are a funny lot. Talk about mood swings. After I finally decided where to go for my birthday, a last minute decision, Warren decided based on some preconcieved idea from his last visit when he was 5 that he hated it and would hate it no matter what, never mind it was my day and it was what I wanted. Where did we go? TGI Fridays, not the kind of place one really expects a 12 year old to hate. When the waitress first came and took our beverage order, Warren was chilly and pouty. When she came back and I ordered my favorite baby back ribs (truth be told Space Aliens has better ribs for a better price, but I wanted to try these), he was cold bordering on rude, and refused to have anything but water.

While we were waiting I got him talking about the decor (think 70's 80's pop culture mishmash), which seemed to lighten him up from sullen to merely pouty. But after the food came, he started to quickly go from pouty to more than willing to help me eat my meal, to suddenly wanting to order mozzarella sticks (a favorite of his and mine).

While I did get some of his mozzarella sticks, he ended up eating about a third of my ribs and over half my fries. By this time he was in a much better mood. So as a treat (since this is normally a place I would never go as I totally can't afford it, but you only get one b'day a year), we went all out and ordered the Brownie obsession, a large brownie covered with Ghiaradhelli Chocolate sauce (one of the best chocolates I have tasted edited as I love to taste chocolate, not chocolate companies) vanilla ice cream and pecans (which were suprisinly not annoying as I usually hate nuts). Man the way he attacked that one would have though he was a NASCAR driver comming up on the Checkered Flag. I had to fight my way just to get less than half. I have no idea where he puts it, but I'd like to find out as it seems to have a gauge problem.

It ended up being a relatively good night. After dinner we took a very long walk and ended up rening some movies. Warren picked up the first season of Futurama and I got Final Cut (a movie I could write an entire entry on - very good) and the first Season of Dead Like Me, which I am quickly falling in love with, great writing, great idea and Mandy Patinkin can look for 6 fingered men in my bedroom anytime.

Monday is Warren's back to school open house (my baby is going to middle school - yikes), and the 29th is the first official day of school. Let's just hope I am still in the black after school shopping. Who knew 6th graders needed so much shit..sheesh!! I don't even want to think about clothes and such.. I mean every kid deserves to start the school year with at least some new clothes.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: http://www.in-forum.com/articles/index.cfm?id=100106§ion=News I wonder if it was followed by a major food run when thous
Thankful For: Another year on the planet, a good night with my son
Music of the mind: : Qui Cera cera ..what ever will be will be .. the future's not our's to see

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads