Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

American Splendor

Friday, Aug. 05, 2005 @ 12:24 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

OK. This guy here, he's our man, all grown up and going nowhere. Although he's a pretty scholarly cat, he never got much of a formal education. For the most part, he's lived in shit neighborhoods, held shit jobs, and he's now knee-deep into a disastrous second marriage. So, if you're the kind of person looking for romance or escapism or some fantasy figure to save the day... guess what? You've got the wrong movie.

Harvey Pekar: Wow, you're a sick woman. Joyce Brabner: Not yet, but I expect to be.

Now that was a funny, yet oddly touching movie. Every now and then when going thru the countless movies in the video store you come upon a gem you weren't aware of. This movie definately fits. I have vaguely heard of the comic book American Splendor, and when I watched the movie I had some recolection of him from the Letterman show, though I never really watched Letterman much as I never really liked his humor all that much.

But this movie was funny, not in a roll on the floor ha-ha sort of way, but in an "I've been there" and "I know that person" sort of way. It stars both actors as the real people and the real people as themselves, along side comic book drawings (trust me, it works). I've never been thru alot of what he has, yet I can relate. I thought I was the only one who looked at the phone book at the other women with my name, and wondered "who are these people" Who is Holly ******?".

If you get a chance, you must see this movie. Who says superheroes have to have superpowers, sometimes real life is complex enough.

Looks like this entry is gonna be short, time to head home to a great weekend off, hopefully this time something will actually get done.

I did get another bag of Amish Friendship Bread starter, so Warren will be thrilled. I made some a few weeks ago, and he devored it so fast it barely had time to chill. It sounds wierd, but trust me, is super delicious. I just wish it didn't take ten days to finish.

Happy Weekend all, in 5 days I will be 36, where the hell has all that time gone..eeesh!!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Stupid picketeers picketed the damn memorial.. at least the mourners had sense to not acknowldedge the damn idiots
Thankful For: weekend off, time with my son
Music of the mind: : "Where's my American Splendor....."

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads