Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Monsoon season

Wednesday, Jun. 29, 2005 @ 1:39 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

The rain it raineth on the just And also on the unjust fella; But chiefly on the just, because The unjust steals the just's umbrella.
Sam Ervin

When shall we three meet again In thunder, lightning, or in rain? Macbeth

If you want to meet in Fargo, those are your only choices. ND has decided to defy the laws of geology and physics by becoming the first landlocked state in America (and probably the first state period) to have a monsoon season. Once again I awoke to the lovely dark grey clouds which gave the morning a lovely nightime overcast. I also realized as we left our home, that taking a shower was an extra step I might as well have skipped as the rain comming down was much faster and had more pressure than my shower ever could. In fact I think a fire hose would find itself given a run for it's money. The roads were more like small rivers than highways and even at full force my windshield wipers found themselves hardpressed to keep up with the downfall. After getting gas and getting soaked again, in more ways than one, I dropped my son off at school.

Noticing that my passenger side winshield wiper was sliding down adn doing more flapping in the breeze than actual windshield wiping I stepped out to fix it, only to realize that instead of flip flops, hip waders might have been a better choice. They may not be fashionable, but when the parking lot has ankle deep water next to the curb, they are definately drier. I than attempted to make it to work, as the lower areas on the streets started fill up and it became clear that if it didn't stop soon, I would need to trade my Taurus in for something with pontoons, or an outboard motor. I managed somehow to make it too work even after being passed by a truck and if I am not mistaken I belive I may have also seen a rather large boat with lots of animals on it sailing down the interstate going the other way (okay maybe not, but with this much rain it wouldnt' suprise me). Once again our county is on flash flood watch, and tornado watch also, as are our neighboring counties. Welcome to the midwest (still beats earthquakes though)!!

And I had to take an early lunch today, as my son normally walks home from summer school (only a couple blocks) but with the downpour I didn't want him to walk home (it's only half a day). Since we didn't fill out a bus form, the bus wouldn't take him, never mind that I followed the bus and it goes right past our house, and would have at most added 30 seconds to the trip, they had schedules to maintain and we couldn't interupt that (oh my heavens no). So I drove home gave Warren a ride and hightailed it back. Of course by this time it had slowed down to a trickle, only to start pouring again as I came back. The sun is finally playing peek-a-boo sort of , and it has gone from night overcast, to early evening. IT still in no way looks like 2:44pm on a late June evening, but at least it no longer looks like the sun forgot to come up. Finally it has stopped raining, at least for now. Anybody need some rain, we have ran out of places for it all to go.

Oh and on top of everything else my damn cable is out. I've spent too many hours and phone calls trying argue with C@ble |, and they keep telling me it is on, but dear cust service rep it isn't. I need to rejoin the 21rst century dammit. Two days without a Law and Order fix has me ready to commit murder. (But only if Jack McCoy agrees to be my lawyer.. yeah right..hahah.. Okay ignore that I'm loosing it.).

Anybody got a canoe for sail or I mean sale..

I found this in our local paper, but I couldn't find it on line. I thought it would be a good laugh.

DEVILS LAKE ND.- A man is accused of driving an electric shipping cart around a grocery store here while drunk, endangering other customers.

Clifford Mattson, 27 of Lakota was charged with disorderly conduct, a misdemeanor, Detective Sue Schwab said Tuesday.

Schwab said police went to the Leevers grocery store Monday afternoon, after reports of a drunken man driving the shopping cart into people and nearly knocking them down.

"He appeared to be actually driging after them" Schwab said."no one was hurt" she said.

The maximum penalty for the misdemeanor charge is 30 days in jail and a $500 fine, Schwab said. A court hearing was set for July 19.

I guess those drunken driving laws apply to any kind of driving. Still it must have been quite humorous, at least afterward, when everbody was out of his way. And they say nothing ever happens here.

edit: it is now 4:48pm, the skies are once again dark as night and it is comming down in buckets again..

Rain rain go to Spain and don't come back again.. at least not until we actually need you..

Take the MIT Weblog Survey

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Tom Cruise - clearly this man has not a clue.. Not another dime from me will he see
Thankful For: http://www.guardian.co.uk/worldlatest/story/0,1280,-5105761,00.html Lets hear it for Canada!!
Music of the mind: : Jukebox hero...

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads