Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Changes

Friday, Jun. 10, 2005 @ 10:56 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I seem to be joining the ranks of people getting ticked at Andrew for not answering our emails. I have not been showing any hits on my stats for several days now. I have sent two different messages to him on this issue. I realize that he is busy and has a lot going on right now. But even a simple "I am aware of the issue, and we are working on it" would be sufficient.

My Supergold was a very generous gift from someone, who paid good money for it. I would like to think I am getting that person's money's worth. If something is not working correctly than I am not getting what was paid for. That makes me not very happy at all.

I've noticed that sometimes I (and really most of us), seem to get into a routine, where we automatically do things a certain way, or go to work on a certain route with out even thinking about it. Like it was programmed into us. There may be a shorter way, or a faster method, or just another way that works as well or better but we are so used to our routine that it never occurs to us to try something different.

Somebody might suggest another perfectly acceptable way of doing something or getting somewhere, but unable to really defend ourselves we sputter for a reason to defend ourselves. Sometimes there is a method to our madness. The toilet paper goes on the roll bottom down cause that way the cats just spin it around instead of making tp beds out of it. We do our dishes from left to right because we are hopelessly right handed and that is the side where the dishes cupboard is anyway. Other times we have no reason. We always fold the towels a certain way because it is the way we fold them, perhaps one upon a time we had a smaller space in which to keep them so we learned to fold them a certain way to make the most of it, and just got into that habit, or maybe that's just the way mom or dad or Aunt Sue always did it, so we just picked it up and did it that way too. Yet to do it another way just seems weird or somehow wrong, as much as there can be a wrong way to fold a towel. We go to "our grocery store" even if it isn't the closest, just cause that is the one we go to. We always buy X brand of Y item, because that is "our brand".

We also have daily habits or routines, that may or may not have a rhyme or reason. I always took a certain route to work, even though it wasn't the most efficient (at least not once road construction began), but because I had just gotten into the habit of it. I have a tendency to always to do things the same way each time. I always took 13th to 45th and 45th to 40th. When I lived at my previous address this route made a little more sense as I was only a couple blocks from 45th. It never even occured to me to try a different way.

Until now. Fargo (and to a lesser extent West Fargo and Moorhead also) have decided to try and make it into the Guiness Book or World Records for most road construction in one city at one time. Given that our current populations are : Fargo-90,599, West Fargo - 16,431 (estimated), and Moorhead - 32,177. Not exactly a small town area, but hardly on par with any major metropolitan area. (I left out Dilworth and Horace because they are rather small and don't really figure much into local metro politics). Yet if you take a look at the amount of road construction (that is just Fargo). Moorhead has their hands full as they bought out an entire block of businesses so they could tear them all down, and "Redevelop" the area. West Fargo has its hands full with the Western end of 13th Ave and Sheyenne St. The point is, that it is almost impossible to go from any point A to any point B in the metro area with out seeing that lovely construction zone orange and some underpaid worker with a slow/stop sign attempting to direct traffic.

It stands to reason with my luck that the roads currently being deconstructed are the roads I most often use going to and from work and assorted errands. But being a creature of habit instead of seeking alternate routes I sat in endless traffic cursing no one in particular. Mike (my ***** ex) is always trying to tell me to take the Interstate up to such and such avenue and then this street to that, but to me it always seemed like such a waste to go what seemed so much further out of my way, instead of what I percieved as a direct route (being from NY/CT he is used to major traffic snarls, and congestion.

I have had enough of road construction to last me a lifetime. Today since I was in a hurry, I decided enough was enough and tried something different. I took Main to South bound I-29 and exited on to 32nd and over to 42nd and up to work. Wouldn't you know, I not only saw some different scenery not involving orange traffic cones, but I was at work in half the time. Sure I didn't get my usual stop at Kum and Go (Neener neener), or Stop and Go for my favorite soda and the local paper. But I broke out of my routine and I feel better for it. I realize in the grand scheme of things and on the scale of life altering events this doesn't even rate, but still its a change.

I tend to be very stuck in certain ways when it comes to somethings. I always take certain routes to certain places, certain items in my room must always be in a certain place or I go Sith, and certain other things must always be a certain way (heaven help the person who mixes up the forks or spoons in my silverware drawer, or mixes up the big forks and little forks or teaspoons and soup spoons. Everything has a specific place and if somebody messes with it, it throws me totally off. Not so much because its is in the wrong place, but because it isn't where I put it. Yes you might say I have some control issues.

While I don't get hung up on things, as in if my son folds towels for me (as if!?!) or puts things away differently from when I do it, I can live with it. I know there are many ways of doing things, I just prefer my way, but I won't drop dead if they are done differently, it just feels weird.

But taking a different route to work today, suddenly I have an urge to go home and rearrange my drawers or move my furniture around or something. Who knows maybe I'll even go home and pee before checking the mail instead of after, like I always do. On second thought, let's not get carried away.

I do feel it is time for some other changes. Major changes. I bitch often about my job, yet have I really tried to find another job? I hate my financies but yet I haven't gotten off my broke ass and tried to do something about. Sure I talk alot, but aside from filling a hot air balloon to nowhere, that isn't going to change anything. I hate my job, but it is comfortable, like a pair of ancient pants, that are stained and torn and not fit for being seen in public, yet they are so damn comforatble and familiar you just can't seem to part with them.

From small changes to big changes. Its pants pitching time.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: I wanna see Joan Jett at Rib Fest tonight, but I have no money - waaaa
Thankful For: There are such wonderful people out int he blog world
Music of the mind: : "It was a bargain...the best I ever had" this damn song won't leave me alone

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads