Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

shorts, sun, and preteen boys

Sunday, Apr. 17, 2005 @ 1:03 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Today was the day. What day you ask? The day I finally fit back into my black shorts, my favorite black denim shorts that last year at this time I couldn't even pull up all the way, because my ass was in the way. I can now not only pull them on all the way but zip them as well. They are a bit snug yes, but I'll take snug over not fitting at all any day. At the rate I am going by next month they should be nice and loose and perfectly comfortable.

Yesterday marked a different kind of milestone, the first day I wore shorts this year (just cause I'm a fat chick doesn't mean I want to dress like one), and the first time I turned on the AC. It was only in the low - mid 70's so I probably wouldnt' have really needed it, but my internal temperature had other ideas. Why? Because at almost 36 I am apparently reaching that point where trying to keep up with an almost 12 year old, is not a pretty sight. Instead of being a good and productive mom yesterday, finishing dishes, doing laundry, cleaning bedrooms, I was a fun but not so productive mom, who spent the afternoon walking around the track at the local school with her son and his newly repaired (by himself) and remodled (on his own) RC car, followed by an hour of attempting to make a ball fall into a basketball hoop at an elementary level (well below regulation height) and reminding myself why I'll never have a career with the WNBA. By the time I got home, I was ready to chug a gallon of water and pass out.

Instead I downed a Sprite, cranked on the air, and took a long shower. Than I got even. I had a $15 coupon for Lane Bryant (I don't normally like thier clothes, but they are only place I can find affordable 42DD's that don't have underwires or look like contraptions, and come in nice colors). We all know how young boys and most hetero men in general feel about shopping for ladies undergarments especially with thier moms. Needless to say he beat a hasty retreat to Radio Shack leaving me to shop in peace. I must say I love coupons. Bra's that are normally $24 each were on sale buy one get one 50% off, and I had a $15 coupon, so instead of spending $50 I only spent $26. And believe me I needed them. Then it was off to a few stores to see what kind of cell phone deals I could find, but so far nothing that is quite what I am looking for, or willing to pay for.

By then it was eating time and we were famished . I had planned to make meatballs and gravy with potatos, but Warren wanted spaghetti, so I had to make some alterations and for a sauce that didnt' cook all day like I normally do with spaghetti it was pretty good. For someone not even remotely Italian I do make a pretty damn good spaghetti sauce.

In an attempt to get Warren caught up so he won't be behind when we get back from Indy I had him start on his homework last night. ONly his teacher forgot to mention that they would need protractors to do it. So off to WalMart we went to by what was supposed to be a $.99 protractor. It didnt' quite work out that way. Walmart had clothes on clearance last night. Finding clothes in my size on sale is a rare treat and finding two pairs of perfect jeans for only $7 each is like hitting the mother load. I should have bought more than two pair. Toss in a pack of black cd's for the red haired terror, and we walked out of there $19 poorer. Of course the simple basic protractor wasn't cool enough for my boy. He had to have the (cheaper) fancy solid colored one, with a moveable pointer thing. Needless to say, we would have been better off going with the basic model. Half way thru his homework, I heard the words everymother dreams of hearing..

"next time I am going to listen to you!
I wonder if he will remember that next time, I plan to use it against him that is for sure..

Of course this is the same kid who would notice if one wire was touched on one of his projects, but still hasnt' noticed that his mom's hair isn't the same color as it was when he went to bed last ngiht. (I love it by the way, the perfect reddish brown combination, with my grays now turned into lovely coppery hightlights). Normally I'm very unconcerned with appearance. If I am clean and smell good, than it is good enough for me. My hair however seems to be my one small area of vanity. Though were it not for giving birth to a redhead, I doubt I would have ever tried and discovered I look good as a red(auburn)head.

Only two days to go.. the next 48+ hours are going to drag on forever. Especially since I promised Warren I would take him to visit the RB. I hate that place. I hate that long hallway, and I hate spending any time near the idiot.

Hopefully Warren (and Andrew) will keep thier promise to clean out the van. As I tend to be the world's greatest procrastinator. Now if I can just figure out why boys want to spend so much time together when they spend half of it, fighting with each other? I may be a tomboy, but clearly I am not totally fluent in boy..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Local idiot tryed to burgler an ATM with a backhoe
Thankful For: MY BLACK SHORTS FIT!!!
Music of the mind: : Coal Miner's Daughter -- Lorretta Lynn

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads