Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

When Office furniture Attacks.

Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2005 @ 12:37 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

This cube business is getting out of hand. Apparently one of my coworkers decided to hire a guard chair to protect their turf, and a rather mean one at that.

Apparently many people don't realize that cube farms can be dangerous places. I don't just mean the mind numbing work that robs you of valuable brain cells, while simoultaneously destroying your will to live, but actual physical danger as well. Office furntiture gets angry when it isn't treated right, or especially in the case of computers who have a supiority complex anyway, when they decide they don't like you. But all computers can do is refuse to cooperate with you, and make your work even more impossible.

Other furniture is far more sinister. I am talking of course about the attack chair (there are also in some places attack desks, but I have been lucky to avoid those monsters from hell, our desks are generally well behaved and have been checked over to make sure any teeth have been removed. Instead of making a stink, I was professional and found a different place to sit for the day ( the ergonomics of the place stink, but I love this computer). I didn't know it had the pitbull of chairs waiting to see how good of an appetizer my leg would be.

Our chairs were supposed to be examined also, however one seems to have escaped from the backroom it was being held captive in, and made its way to the work floor, where it was standing guard over its favorite station.

I came to work late due to a meeting at Warren's school (all reports wonderful - that's my boy!!)so someone else had decided to use my station.

I sat down to start work and I felt something scrape my leg, but it was barely felt so I didn't pay any attention to it, then I got up for something and when I sat back down I felt it again, only worse and now I felt a breeze as well.

I look down and discover I have a nice scratch on my leg and my formerly one piece favorite jeans are now advertising to the whole world that Holly decided to wear purple underwear today.

On the brightside, the chair has now been tagged and sent the office furniture equivalent of the pound where it can be dismantled and melted into something more useful, like beer cans. (apparently what really happened is when all the foam rubber padding on the arm rest was ripped off (I guess somebody was too poor to afford real food), the metal was exposed and it decided I looked like a good (and filling) meal. I did get to take a long lunch and run home to change clothes, which meant no time to heat up my Ramen noodles and left over chicken breast so it was a blessing in disquise that I go to have DQ for lunch instead.

In other news, I finally got a raise, a real actually make a difference on my paycheck raise!! Well to be fair, everybody got a raise, but not all the same raise, because they are raising the starting wage, and phasing out upsales, they are moving everybody up accordingly based on time, job and performance. But money is money!! And now maybe I can afford to reward Warren a little better all his hard work this year. (not to mention mine).

I have this weekend off, too!! At least something is going right, for now, at least until I wind up on Fox's newest video show, When Office Furniture Attacks

Your Brain is 66.67% Female, 33.33% Male
Your brain leans female You think with your heart, not your head Sweet and considerate, you are a giver But you're tough enough not to let anyone take advantage of you!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Stupid pickup truck almost back out of his driveway into my passenger door when I ran home to change pants
Thankful For: more money, more better
Music of the mind: : (bump bump) have to get away from the pain you drive me to ....Faded Love.....

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads