Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Old friends and Arctic temperatures

Saturday, Jan. 15, 2005 @ 1:19 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Sometimes the internet can be an intersting and most useful tool. The other day when I was stuck at home with "pink eye" I was watching some show on NBC about friends and they did a segment about old friends and looking up old friends. On a lark I pulled up google and typed in the name of someone I was very good friends with during high school but had lost touch with over the years as our lives went in different directions.

The first site that came up was a personal site by her step father ( I knew from my mom that her mom had remarried - her dad had passed away when we were in high school still), and it had his email address. I was also able to pull up her phone number and home address (she has the house that another friend of our grew up in), and a website about pets that she had contributed to. I dashed off a quick email to her step dad, who must have passed it on to her rather quickly as I got a reply from her later that night. And we have been emailing back and forth ever since.

Its hard to believe that it has been 18 years since I graduated high school, that my 20 year reunion will be in 2 years. Even though we haven't seen each other in almost 15 years we are hoping to get together soon, most likely when I go home (if I go home) to mom's house for Easter. Hopefully one of us will also try to call the other tonight on the phone.

IM chatting is rather hard these days as my son has developed as serious addiction to Roller Coaster Tycoon, since his friend made him a copy of the game, and he is playing it constantly. At least he is getting some good reading, math and business skills out of it, with no scantily clad women or guys blowing up stuff and stealing cars.

Now if it would just warm up. We have been under windchill advisory for the last three days. I am not talking normal winter cold (10F would feel like a heat wave right now - that is sledding and play outdoor weather), I am talking 3 straight days of -16 to -25+ temps with windchills ranging from -30 to -50 at times. It is so cold right now that if we had polar bears at the zoo they would beg to go up north to the Arctic Circle to warm up. I guess my battery blowing up was a blessing disquised as a tradgedy. My old battery wouldn't even think of starting if the mercury was close to zero, even at -25 this battery has yet to fail me, and with the total suckage of public transportation in ND in general and Fargo in particular it is a good thing. Walking half a mile in polar temperatures is not a good thing.

Apparently it has warmed up. According to The Weather Channel The current temperature at the time I am updating this is -4F with a windchill of -23F. Tommorrow is a high of -7F and a low of -19F with winds of 5 - 10 mph. Those suffering with temperatures of 10 - 20 above can just shut up already. They have no idea how nice they have it. Over Christmas it was 12 degrees outside, the sledding hill was full capacity, and we had a blast. I don't mind cold weather, I just don't like feeling like I am living at the North Pole.

Of course I am also sure that plenty of people from further north (Canada, Alaska, Scandinavia, Greenland etc..) will be only to happy to tell me I how nice I have it, since I know there are places much colder, but face it 35 weeks of winter a year is enough to make anyone cranky, if not hardy. At least next week it is supposed to get back up to those toasty teen temperatures again.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who think because they have an SUV they can drive faster on ice.. hahah joke is on you...sucka
Thankful For: My nice warm toasty bed - too bad I'm not in it
Music of the mind: : "What's new pussycat....pussy cat pussy cat I love you..

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads