Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Starting the morning with a bang

Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005 @ 9:08 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

This year is starting off with a little more bang than I would like. This morning, was the ultimate in starting off with a bang, litterally. I need to write this out, while it is still fresh in my mind. This year is so far shaping up in ways I really don't like. If the first few days are any indication I am in trouble.

I have jumpstarted stalled vehicles many times, with no problems. I can do it in my sleep. Today, I must have had too much caffiene or not enough sleep or just been a little too much on the mania side of things or somehow off my feed. My van had almost started, but with the mercury hovering at the -15F mark, it was a no go. Like I had done many times before I asked my neighbor for a jump, she was more than happy to oblige. I hooked up the cables to my car and then went over to her van. I noticed a bit of a spark when I connected to her car, but nothing I took too seriously. Then I came back to my car to double check things. This is when it all gets a bit foggy. My memory is a bit shakey. I thought it looked like things were reversed. I remember thinking I need to correct that. What possesed me to remove the ground first, I'll never know. There were some small flames, and then a loud boom.

My face and my gloveless hands hurt like hell. At first I was too stunned to do anything. Then it finally dawned on me, batterys have acid in them. So I went in and washed my hands well, then it hit me, that my face hurt so I washed it. But then later I noticed my lips tasted horrible, so I washed again. Otherwise I seem fine, it not horribly shaken. It was only then that I realized if not for my glasses I could be blind right now. My ears are still ringing, and to say I am shakey would be a gross understatement. Amazingly my battery is stil putting out a small amount of juice, enough to run the dome light and blower, but not enough to start the van. I talked to the guy at the Tuffy's (who usually does a good job of taking care of me), and like I assumed the battery is not safe, bu the van should be fine, or at least as fine as it normally is. This battery was not even two years old. The van had been running great this winter, and now this. I am thankful that Warren was in the van, and my neighbor was in her car, so no one else was hurt but stupid old me. I feel so foolish and dumb. Its not like I didn't know what could happen if the batteries were hooked up wrong. Its not like I've never done this before. IF my Ex ever hears of this, I'll never ever live it down. My neighbor was lovely enough to give Warren a ride to school.

The tow truck should be here any minute, and thankfully Mom is helping me. I needed this like I needed more holes in my head (of which thankfully there are none). There are, however, little black pieces of plastic all over the yard, and on top of my van. You can't see it very well in the picture, but that used to be an almost new, perfectly good battery, and it is now toxix waste.

So far 2005 has been a very unimpressive year. If this is the tone for the rest of the year I am in big trouble

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: ME, definately ME ME ME ME ME OY VAy@@
Thankful For: nobody was hurt and my vehicle is repairable
Music of the mind: : ringing years

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads