Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Elections, and depressed adolescents

Tuesday, Nov. 02, 2004 @ 6:03 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Election day finally, we can start the end of this crap. Fortunately I mostly watch cable stations so I havent' been totally bombarded with as much of the crap as some people, however I have seen enough to know this election is going to be the craziest and most insane in probably 50 years. People stealing signs from other peoples lawns, being rude on the road to cars with opposing bumper stickers, to says loyalties are sharply divided would be an understatement. Both sides are watching the polls to make sure the otherside doesn't try something, it would suprise me if fist fights broke out somewhere. Even after the election I am willing to bet the results will be tied up in litigation for months, again. Its already starting.

That said, nothing short of divine intervention is going to keep me from the polls today, especially since I live across the street and a block down from mine. I may be the lone liberal trapped in a sea of uptight conservative types (I mean really most of my like minded friends in real life are all MN-ers from cripes sake), but I refuse to not stand up and let my views be known. Even though I have a feeling I may be somewhat ashamed of my state after this election, as we are one of the 11 states that thinks they can alter their constitution to discriminate against an entire group of people for reason I believe at determined at birth and not something they can control. I refuse to allow it without a fight.

It should be interesting here in ND, because out wonderfully intelligent Cass County election committee can't even get the ballots printed correctly, and then they (meaning somebody higher up and who ought to no better, but obviously doesnt' care), went ahead and tried to get the whole issue of putting the minutes in the paper back on the ballot even though it was already decided back in June.

I don't normally talk about politics, but this is the first election in a while that I have strong feelings about. I won't go into anymore detail however as you can probably guess, while I may consider myself an Independant, on a majority of the issues I conside my self very much a liberal, who believes human beings and human rights are much more important than the almighty dollar, and who refuses to allow this country to sink to the level of being a theocracy.

Enough of the politics, on to lighter topics. The Incredibles opens this weekend, which means the first Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith trailer will soon be in front of me. Only four days. I told Warren that I would take him, only if he managed to pull 200 (points) everyday for the rest of the week. He had a very off day Monday. I can't really call it a bad day, because he didn't loose points for negative behavior, and he didnt act out, but rather he just didn't get many of his morning points because he wouldnt' do his work in the morning. Apparently they were supposed to alphabetize some words and he decided it was overwhelming, and instead of trying to make it better just refused to do them.

I've talked to one of the councilors, and she agreed with my suspicions (which Warren's denial off seems to confirm - I know my son's behavior), that now that he is on level three and may possibly soon be facing reintergration back in his regular classroom he is a bit scared and may start "shooting himself in the foot" so to speak. I tried to talk to him about it last night, along with the fact that he has been very grouchy and cranky lately. Yesterday at breakfast I was ready to throw his oatmeal at him, I didn't of course I am more mature than that, but I had to take my own time out to keep from loosing it. He admitted finally that he is depressed and feeling a bit hopeless, though he couldnt' really articulate what exactly about. I have some good ideas. He has a lot to be worried and upset about. I can understand why he is depressed, but he still has his job to do, as do I. The world doesn't stop moving no matter how much we sometimes want it to. I plan to mention it on his next appointment, but meanwhile hopefully we can work on the skill of going on with life even when you don't feel like it. Something I still have a lot of trouble with sometimes.

I started my NaNo yesterday right on schedule, but I still have over 49,500 words to go. I figure if I can accomplish that, at least I will have done something myself this month. I'm sure it will be horrible but at least I can say I did it, then go back later and make it less cringeworthy. Besides its a great excuse for not doing other things. If I am going to be waking up at 5:30 everymorning for reasons only my body knows, I might as well have something todo that is more productive than watching Hey Arnold!.

Off to the showers, I'm sure it will be another insane day at work. Yesterday was unreal. But on the bright side maybe my luck is turning if only in small ways. I had two "buy one 20oz get one free" caps for Pepsi/Mt Dew yesterday. I used one to buy two Dews and both also had caps for more "free" pop. I have no idea what the odds are, but I'm sure they were not in my favor. Not exactly a million dollar inheritance, but still rather nice when I am very very broke.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: All those turing this election in to a circus
Thankful For: No more political commercials - its insane I tell you just insane
Music of the mind: : Black Magic Woman

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads