Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Sometimes holey shoes can be a good thing

Saturday, Oct. 16, 2004 @ 5:17 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

First of all I want to say: Its about time somebody recognized George's genius. I am so tired of the bashing, and the whining about the updates. They are his movies and he can do whatever he damn well pleases.. We simply choose to like them or not like them. ITs not a personal affront to anyone personally if your precious Yub Yub song is gone, or Hayden has replaced Sebastian Shaw.(Appologies in advance to K*, this is in no way directed at you, but just a rant in general so please don't hate me okay) Deal with it!! Personally from an existenial point of view, philosphically it makes more sense to me as that is what he was before he became Vader. Obi-Wan always stayed Obi-Wan so he died as he was in life. When Anakin became Vader he stopped being Anakin. Luke returned him to the light before he died, so when he entered the Force he became as he was before he turned, he returned to himself, and was finally free. They are George's movies and he can do whatever he wants. I doubt DaVinci conducted polls before deciding how to make Mona Lisa's smile. True artistry isn't about making money or pleasing fans, but about something deeper that comes from within. I hate hate hate it, when Hollywood cuts or re-edits somebody's film or changes the ending because of focus groups or fan reaction. Let the creator do it the way he/she see's it. Integrity is much more important than the almighty freaking dollar.

But anyway, seeing as that probably only made sense to a small handful of my readers I'm moving on to another subject.

I actually cried when I read the news about Christopher Reeve. If anybody could have fought and walked again, it was him. Many people in his position would have withdrawn and moved in to a personal pity party. Instead he used his personal tragedy to benefit others, to put a face to a cause the previously didn't have one. Contrary to what a small few whiners have said, it wasnt' about him walking again, it was about finding a way so all victims of spinal cord injury would have a way to walk again. He just had more money and options than most, and was in a better position to use his name and fame to fight the battle for others.

Later that night after I heard the news I noticed the holes in my son's shoes again. I had noticed them a couple days earlier and was giving Warren grief over them. I only bought these shoes in August. That is less than three months ago. I don't know what he does in those shoes, but they couldn't have more damage if he used them to light off firecrackers. And with his superwide feet (EEEE), I can't afford to buy another pair either. I was upset at his lack of care, and at facing yet another expense (its also October in ND, meaning I need to get him a winter coat and gear STAT), when it hit me. I could be upset or I could be greatful for what those holes are a symbol of. Those holes are not just wear from a busy careless young man, they are a sign, that my son is a healthy active normal 11 year old boy. He is able to take running, biking, playing out side, and walking to his friends house for granted. How many people like Christopher Reeve can't take that for granted anymore. How in the blink of an eye something so simple can come to an aprupt schreechign halt. Nobody ever thinks it will happen to them until it does. And it can happen to anyone. One second life is fine and you are riding a horse like you have a million times before, and poof faster than you can wonder WTF, it has all changed. Its nobody's fault and nothing can undo it.

Most of us go thru life thinking tragedies only happen to other people, forgetting that to the rest of the world WE ARE OTHER PEOPLE. Instead of being upset at having to buy Warren yet another pair of shoes, I've decided to be grateful my son has the ability and freedom to wear those holes in his shoes, and not take something so simple for granted.

Today has been one of those days, where I just wish I could disappear for awhile and somebody else could be the mom if only just for a day. I can't even pinpoint exactly why. Warren isn't acting any different than normal. I am just crankier, and everything seems to bug me today.

On top of that it appears the IDIOT is out of jail. According to Warren who talked to him last he is staying at some sort of half-way house. Apparetnly he took a cab adn was looking around the front yard and garage. But he left again. Warren wants to see his dad, but doesn't want us together because of how we fight. I don't want the basard anywhere near me. I know he loves his son in his own way (though not enough apparetnly to get a real JOB and actually PAY his child support), and I know Warren loves him, but I think we'd all be much better off if he just hopped the next Greyhound back to Connecticut, or drank himself into a coma. Evil thoughts to have about your child's father and a man you once thought you could have a relationship with, but trust me when I say this man has more than earned my rage at him.

And on that note, I need to get the *bleep* ouutta here, so after we eat I am taking Warren and his buddy swimming (at the Sunset - indoor w/water slide only $3 each). The boys can practice drownign each other while I nap in the hot tub, and maybe read something - uninterupted.. yeah like that will happen this century..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads