Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Linguistics and fashion wars

Sunday, Aug. 15, 2004 @ 9:49 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

In the US

An English exchange student asks someone �do you have a rubber�. Taken aback, she says, �but I don�t even know you�. A bit confused, he assures her, �I�ll only be a minute. I�ll bring it right back�.

When I was in LAX I asked an attendant for the toilet. He indicated where a restroom was. After half an hour I finally went to the bathroom, which I had discovered whilst diligently searching for the room full of couches.

A lady from the UK went for breakfast upon arriving in the US. She ordered fried eggs and was asked "how would you like your eggs?" She was perplexed and suggested "cooked?"

A friend visiting me in California, after complaining about being deplaned instead of being allowed to disembark, saw a sign announcing �Happy hour 4-6 p.m.� and said "Oh, everything here really is twice as big".

In the UK...

An American friend worked in an English pub one summer. A local ordered a light and bitter and my friend gave him a pint of bitter and some matches.

Another American friend was taken aback when she was invited to "go down to the bloody pub and get pissed."

In Piccadilly Circus, London, one of the dossers (a panhandler) asked an American tourist, "Can I pinch a fag, mate?"

An American, whose husband was stationed in England, got up early one morning to find out if the milkman could explain the small holes in the foil tops on the milk bottles, and the missing portions of cream. Without blinking, he suggested, "Must be yer tits, ma�am."

An American visiting English friends asked the missus how her new job was. He was very confused as she brightly told him "it�s a really good screw!"

An American lady on the side of the road became very concerned when the nice Englishman calls out from under her car, �I cant quite see where the petrol�s leaking out. Would you hand me a torch.�

taken from this site
After my previous entry, my curiosity got the best of me again, and so I hopped on my favorite search engine, Google, and found this very intersting site. I always new there were some very intersting slang differences, but I never realized there were enough major differnces to lead somebody to actually write and English to English translation dictionary. Though it could make for some really funny misunderstandings, I think I see a tiny inspiration for some potentially hilarious dialogue, if I ever get that novel in my head off the ground. (Though I have no idea where a British character would fit in to a story based on an obscure character from German folklore).

Of course to make things even funnier for comparasion, I also followed links to these sites, to tell if you are American or British or.. (fill in the blank). Rather interesting to say the least. (I find it rather funny however that I am probably as familiar with many of the older Canadian series that they listed as I am with some of the shows they listed for Americans, though it has been probably over 20 years since I've actually seen "The Beachcombers" "King of Kensington" , I still know who Bruno Gerusi is, and watched way more Mr. Dressup then Mr. Rogers and liked him better too. (Though I am still mystified by the whole Zed vs. Zee thing)

Yesterday it was dead at work, so I got to go home early. After a bit of a nap, and Warren talking to his dad for an hour, we went out to A&W/Long John Silvers. Then Warren decided he wanted to do his school shopping (well some of it), so I decided what the hell. So much for my theory that by having a boy I would dodge the bullet of "No kid of mine is wearing that". Why my son thinks wearing pants that could fit two of him is cool, I'll never understand. I realize that I've probably reached the age, where my idea of a handsome young man's clothes, are more in line with my son's idea of "I wouldn't be caught dead in that" but still, I wish I had been warned that taking tranquilizer before shopping . After arguing over jeans for about 20 minutes I could see another gentleman by himself looking at clothes and laughing to himself a little. After getting beyond exasperated I made a comment to myself that "I thought I'd get to skip this hassle by not having a girl", and right on cue the gentlemen came back with "That's what you think!!" .

I've always thought I would be a fairly liberal parent, and not so uptight about clothes like my folks, and I dressed conservativly in high school compared to much of what was popular in the 80's, however I was in to the torn and acid look, and the unlaced sneakers, which my mom could never understand. I have no problem with my on having a pierced ear, most of the t-shirts he likes I have no objections to, but I just can't get my head to wrap around this idea that his pants have to look like they are ready to fall off. I think he just wants them, because he knows I think they make him look like a hood, and I don't like the gansta look. I have a feeling then next few years are going to be a bumpy ride. I can't wait till he has kids, then I can sit back and laugh my head off.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Is it just me, or have the talking baby movies been done to death several times over
Thankful For: most of school shopping out of the way
Music of the mind: : Don't it make my brown eyes blue.. I have no idea how Crystal got in my head

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads