Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Whoop Whoop

Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2004 @ 7:30 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com



What Grease character are you?
this quiz was made by andrea

Just when I thought I had all I could handle on my plate, the Great Maker decides to up the ante on me, and really test the strenghth of my spiritual chinet.

For the last few days I've noticed that Warren has been coughing but he hasn't really had any other symptoms. It didn't seem that bad, just mildly annoying. But last night, and this morning it was definately worse. I took him to daycare anyway, but gave him some cough drops to help him feel better.

I have been coughing a little but not enough to bother me. I didn't think much of it, but doing some research on the internet between calls, I started to get worried., as we have an epidemic working its way across our state, an epidemic of Whooping cough. I took Warren in to be checked just in case, praying that it is something else.

Of course as soon as they see what he is in for, all the nurses and doctors put on the masks before treating him, adn make him wear one also. They listened to him cough and did the basic check, and after checking the newest guidelines (not sure what those are, but he had to leave the room to check them), he decided that Warren sounded just close enough to warrent antibiotics and the wonderful joys of the nasal swab test, where they take a long skinny piece of wire like contraption with a mini q-tip on the end and stick it way up in the nasal passage. The first one went fine, but Warren hated it, and was really sniffy after. The second one, he sneezed all over the nurse before she could get it all the way up, talk about your unglamorous jobs, poor women is standing there in a blue surgical mask, holding this wire and q-tip contraption with snot dripping off her hands. Not one of her better days.

$24 and one very unhappy 11 year old later we are home, and since the test will go in tommorrow it will be at least two days before we know for sure, and at least 5 days of antibiotics before he is non-contagious. As the mother who lives with him, I also need to be careful. This also means he cannot go to daycare, as they have several babies and smaller children, and she also has a foster son, with cerebal palsy and I think a few other special needs (he has a feeding tube, or did). The last thing they need is whooping cough germs.

She was not pleased when I told her (well its not like I wanted this or planned it, but I think she has other issues on her mind). Afte talking to her, I check my mail, and to make sure my bad day, gets just a little worse, I find a lovely letter from SEHS-C informing me that her daycare liscense has been suspended but not giving me any informations as to the reasons.

I am off tommorrow, but as a potential carrier and the mother of a sick son, who is too contagious to attend daycare, and who is now concerned about her current daycare, I have no choice but to miss work on Friday, I have no idea what I'm doing this weekend. The neighbor who usually has her eyes open to check on them, is in her later 60's early 70's and has empheyzema. She needs to be aware and stay as far away from Warren as possible. I have no idea when Warren was exposed and either could have been unwttittingly spreading lovely little pertussis germs everywhere we go. Not as nice as flowers, but the sentiments last much longer.

Have I mentioned Warren also goes back to school this month, and is not happy at all about his new school situation. My insurance for my car is also do, and I don't even want to talk about my other bills.

If this test comes back positive, I think I will have a nervous breakdown. My mom can help financially, but she can't have any contact, if it is positive, with her asthma and health it would also be disasterous. I feel like putting a quarantined sign on the door. An 11 year old who can't go play with his friends is a very very unhappy boy, and that makes his mother a very unhappy mom!!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Pertussis bacterias - evil no good SOB's go away.. go far far away...
Thankful For: All the wonderful Birthday Wishes!! Thank you so much
Music of the mind: : MacGyver theme - don't ask

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads