Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

ND- Love it or hate it, its still my home

Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004 @ 6:19 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I actually stole this idea from LeaLoo and did a search on google, because I'm too lazy to write this myself, but it pretty much fits life in the Flickertail State. For those who don't know, what a flickertail is, its a gopher, and yes we have lots of them.

You know you are from ND if:

Your idea of a traffic jam is 2 cars waiting to pass a tractor on the highway. Well for anytown smaller than Williston it is pretty much true, unless its Threshing Bee time, County Fair, or Church.

Vacation means going to Medora. I've actually been there, however for most people around here vacation means the Lakes or the Cities (Mpls/St.Paul for those not in the know).

You've seen all the biggest bands, 20 yrs after they were popular. True, but I can't afford most concerts, though with the Fargo dome, things are improving in that area.

You measure distance in hours. All too true, Grand Forks is about an hour and half north of here, the Cities are about 3 or 4 hours east of here. Long distances between places, do that to you.

East means to Fargo. - unfortunatly too many people think of Fargo as ND. And since the majority of people live in the Eastern half of the state, we tend to overshadow the Western half, who is not happy about it all.

You think going to Minneapolis requires a passport. -huh?? Winnepeg maybe but Mpls?? Even Winnepeg doesnt' require one, unless you are not an US citizen. I've never been that dense.

You know several people who have hit a buffalo. Buffalo no! Deer yes!!! Came close to hitting a few myself.

The most common reason for the pastor being late for church is hitting a buffalo. - See above

Your school classes were canceled because of cold. - Cold and snow, but unlike most places by the time we've reached the point of canceling school, most other places would be at a state of emergency.

Your school classes were canceled because of heat. - Only because our school district (the one I grew up in), were too poor/cheap to spring for AC.

Your school finals were canceled for harvest. - finals no, but it wasnt' unusual for kids to miss the begginning of the school year because of harvest. My dad used to start school 2 weeks late every year during high school because of harvest. School usually ends in May here, so farm kids are out before springs work

You've ridden the school bus for an hour each way. - Not unusual at all in most rural school districts. A lot of kids have 20 to 30 miles commutes to school each way. I was close I only had 10.

You've had to switch from "heat" to A/C in the same day! - YUP.. usually in the spring and the fall/pre-winter

Stores don't have bags; they have sacks. -duh!!

You see people wear bib overalls to funerals and church. - In small towns, you betcha.. Its the farmer's uniform.

The people wearing bib overalls are millionaires.-suprisingly yes its true. Some of the richest people in this state look like they can't afford coffee, because they are too busy working to be buying fancy-schmanchy duds and stuff. Farming is hard work and a 24x7 commitment, esp if you have livestock

The people wearing 3 piece suits are on minimum wage. - Welcome to ND, not all of them, but definately many of them.

You see a car running in the parking lot at the store with no one in it no matter what time of the year. -Well usually only in the winter, when its cold and people want to keep them warm, and when its really hot and people want to keep the AC running.

You only lock your car in August, so it doesn't get filled with zucchini. -And cucumbers and tomatos, and potatos..

You end your sentences with an unnecessary preposition. Example: "Where's my coat at?" or " If you go to town I wanna go with." -I used to drive my ex crazy with that. We also say things like "Did the mail go?" and add r's to words that don't have them, its not a washing machine, its a warshing machine" and use expressions like "you betcha" "Uff Da" or "yah".

All the festivals across the state are named after fruit, vegetable, grain or animal. - Or something related to on of the above.. we ARE a farming state after all

You install security lights on your house and garage and leave both unlocked, keys in the car. - We are a close knit and way too trusting bunch of people

You think 4 major food groups are: beef, chokecherry wine, pork and Jell-O with marshmallows.- Only at church basement potlucks, where open face buns with Cheese-whiz and oilves in the center are also a staple, next to the jello molds, and 400 different variations of hotdish, and glorified rice..

You carry jumper cables in your car. - Doesn't everyone?

You carry a blizzard survival kit in your car 12 months a year. -Its easier than taking it out for 3 1/2 months and then putting it back in

You only own 3 spices; salt, pepper, ketchup. Don't forget saurkraut and horseradish (blech!!).

You design your kids Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit. -I've gone trick or treating in winter gear more than once as a kid

Driving is better in the winter because potholes are filled with snow. - who ever wrote this must be from Fargo

You think everyone from a bigger city has an accent. - No not necessarily..

You think sexy lingerie consists of tube socks and a flannel nightie. - When its -30 outside, Victoria's dirty little Secret just doesn't cut it.

The local paper covers National and International headlines on one page, but needs 6 pages for local sports. -And ignores the Science Fair and Spelling Bee winners almost compelety... Unless they also happen to be football players, hockey players or basketball players

You think deer season is a national holiday. -Too some people it practically is

You find -30 degrees F a "little chilly". -Compared to -40 it is..its also not unusual during a typical ND winter

You find 3 feet of snow a minor inconvenience. -Just a normal ND winter..

You know all 4 Seasons: Almost Winter, Winter, Still Winter and road Construction. -Funny, but sadly quite true...

The definition of summer is bad sledding. - Also known as mosquito season.. and Road Construction season

You know if another North Dakotan is from southern, middle or northern ND as soon as they open their mouth. -Only by the words they use..though there is a bit of an accent variaton..I'm pretty sure only people from Divide, McKenzie and Williams counties know what a Slushburger is.

There is a Dairy Queen in every town with a population of 1000 or more, but McDonalds are spread out every 100 miles. - Until you get to Fargo and they are every 100 blocks. Also every town has at least one cafe with Knoepfla on the menu as the soup of the day at least one day a week, and every grocery store carries Lefse all year round, and lutefisk and Rosettes at Christmas time.

You actually get these jokes and forward them to all your North Dakota Friends!!! - I resemble that remark

I may complain about her sometimes, and there are a lot of things, I think could use improving and changing, but ND is still my home, and even though I sometimes say some not so nice things about him, he is my home.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: None this time
Thankful For: Warren's summer school class earned a party tommorrow..
Music of the mind: : round and round and up and down...1 2 3 kick, 1 2 3 kick.....

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads