Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

No Fool Like an Old Fool

Thursday, Apr. 01, 2004 @ 8:53 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I Am

Which tarot card are you?
I think I'll let that speak for itself.

I hate April Fools Day. Okay, maybe hate is a bit of a strong word. Usually I am one of the first to suspect something is a joke, probably because I've learned a long time ago not to believe anything anybody says between March 31 and April 2nd. But everyonce in a great while, somebody figures out a way to actually get me.

This year the winner of the "I got you" award goes to none other than that red headed food disposer with size 10 shoes, who shares my house and calls me Mom (except when he's whinning, and then it sounds more like mmmmmmmooooooooooommmmmmmmmmm). He did have a little help from his teachers (who I will also have to thank in a most appropriate way, like maybe treating his class to triple chocolate cookies with a free can of caffienated soda on a Monday morning). I have to admit after the fact it was kind of funny, and its refreshing to know he is able to laugh at himself, and has inheritied my black sense of humor (when did that happen).

What did the offspring do you ask? Well today I did what I usually do and called Mrs. S (his Base teacher) to find out how he did (as my Walter Mitty has quite the imagination, even if he doesn't see it on Milberry Street). And was told that he had an awful day and refused to work or and had a ton of homework Thank God it was at the end of the day, or who knows what I would have done. So I finish my day, plotting ways to toture my son, and get thru the homework he had.

I get to daycare and pick him up, and that is when my mommy radar should have kicked in, but didn't. First I hear that my son, is actually working on homework at daycare. At this point I was waiting for someone to jump up and yell April Fools. Then the next off radar moment was when he couldn't wait to show me his notebook. I mean what kid who is about to be grounded for life, wants to show his parents how bad he did?. So I read the notebook, first they go on about how he had a o% day and didn't do anythign, than it says to flip the page, where I am greeted by a large note proclaiming ...

April Fool

Then the real note about how he had an awesome note. At this point Warren is laughing hysterically, and I'm torn between strangling him, and kissing him. Not only that, but he had been actually working hard and did have a large share of his homework done. What mother wouldn't melt after that. So naturally I had to reward him with McD's and Ice cream after. He also wrote the rough draft of his essay tonight, with a bit of help from me. Its soo sweet, only an ice cube could read it an not be tearing up. Its nice to remember why you love the little monster so much. Despite it all, he really is a very good kid, who just happened to be cursed with an idiot for a father.

Warren also decided that since 5th graders get to take music lessons, he wants to. I have no problem with that, I think it would be good for him. He is very auditory and loves music (well HIS music, not all music). But instead of clarinet, or sax or drums my little boy wants to take guitar lessons. Okay. I know my son, while I think it could be a good thing, I just fear that he is going to expect to play like Eric Clapton after only 2 lessons. Or as soon as he finds out just how much work it takes to play good and play right, that he will decide its too much work and want to quit.

I told him if he is really intersted, still next year I will look into renting one or seeing if I can lease of borrow a beginner model (what ever that might be? I know nothing of guitars)and see how much it would cost for him to take lessons. Who knows? Maybe he will suprise me and take to it. He does love music and seems to have an ear for it. Maybe it will help him out in other ways and give him another means for expressing himself. OF course I'll also have tomake sure I have a huge stock of Advil and ear plugs. I remember taking Clarinet lessons at that age. Beginning musicians are a great way to torture some body. Any musical types out there with suggestions or ideas?

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Today I was the Fool
Thankful For: Abilify so far seems to be the greatest thing since weekends off
Music of the mind: : "Bounce baby out the door...." Sara Conner is getting on my nerves

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads