Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Don't go stepping on Superwoman's cape...

Sunday, Feb. 22, 2004 @ 10:35 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com


You're Watership Down!
by Richard Adams
Though many think of you as a bit young, even childish, you're actually incredibly deep and complex. You show people the need to rethink their assumptions, and confront them on everything from how they think to where they build their houses. You might be one of the greatest people of all time. You'd be recognized as such if you weren't always talking about talking rabbits.
Take the Book Quiz at the Blue Pyramid.

I don't know about greastest of all times, but the rest is definately pretty close to the truth, well except for the part about talking to rabbits.. (Cats yes, dogs maybe, kids definately, but rabbits? Only when the darn things refuse to leave my garden alone and then its usually in terms best reserved for R rated movies and adult versions of a Bugs Bunny cartoon).

But anyway, as has been pointed out to me by a couple of concerned readers. I have been rather lackadasical about updating here lately. Part of it has been that my life has been rather nuts lately, and the other part is that I have been much more active again at TF.N. I forgot how much I love that place and my fellow Anakin/Hayden fans. That and arguing with the logically challanged who don't agree.

Where do I start. The RB is out of jail of course, and he has been his usually obnoxious, and annoying self. A couple of weeks ago things came to major head and we really got into it. I mean really got into it. My glasses got trashed and I ended up with a fairly painful cut on the bottom of my foot. Mike was arrested and charged with assault and I think also interfering with a 911 call. Of course he was soo sorry and blah blah blah later, but also made it clear that the whole thing is my fault because I wanted him to leave. And that he will call social services on me if I don't knock it off. I have talked to RACC, but I really need to call back. I can't afford a lawyer and with the threats he's been making, I really feel I need one. (If anyone has a suggestion, I would be more than open to hear it)

Warren has already been making it clear that he loves his dad, but is very worried about him and also doesn't like what he see's his dad has become. The saddest thing I heard was today when he told me "I wish I could want to be like my dad". I mean every kid should have a father he wants to be like, not one that sets an example of how NOT to be a dad.

I also had Warren's IEP meeting at his school last week. Since it has been three years they are retesting again. They will be testing ability and achievement, and a behavior assesment. Its not quite all I had hoped for, but it is definately good, that we will hopefully have a better idea of what is going on. I would really like to do a bit more in depth testing to find out exactly what kind of LD he has that make reading so hard. As near as his teachers and I can tell it is a processing issue of some kind. When he hears something or is shown it (ie demonstration or pictures) he has no problems understanding it, or remembering it. But if he tries to read it, sentences and paragraphs loose all meaning because it takes him solong to get thru each word it becomes just a list of words. Sad part is we also strongly suspect he is gifted. (I knew this early on when his first words were car-car and mokile (motorcycle) and he was yanking books off my shelf at 6 months old and begging for Hooked on Phonics at 3 but I coudln't afford it).

Tommorrow is also standardized test day. I hated those things as a kid. But here in ND, somebody decided that every year all 4th graders must be tested. This year they decided also that next year on they will do 5th grade instead. So poor Warrens class is feeling a bit shafted, because basically they will be tested two years in row. And with the other tests that Warren will be taking this month for his IEP, well the poor kid is just going to be tested out. Thankfully, like me he doesn't panic at tests at all, but rather has a laid back approach. I never had test anxiety either, (well except for my pregnacy test!! And even that turned out positive, in more ways than one!)

This weekend, I clean sweeped my room and started on Warren's room. But clean sweeping his stuff will require several boxes. He still has his picture books from when he was a toddler, not to mention about 50 gazillion Happy Meal toys and enough Hot Wheels cars to shut down E-bay. I know he will never part with the Hot Wheels but hopefully we can get rid of a bunch of the other stuff. I took two large trash bags of stuff out of my room, and I still feel like all I did was rearrange the junk, because I just find it too hard to part with anything that I see as having any possible redeeming value. Heck when I cleaned out my desk drawers I had to think twice about chucking a 3 year old review from a job I no longer have. How sad is that.

Today wasn't all work though. Because you know you are in North Dakota when almost 40F temperatures mean indoor pool party and lets line up around the block at the ice cream place. Whatother states digs out the shorts on the first day the temps will go over 50F. However since this is only February, most likely we have a few more blizzards to live thru first.

Other good news, Warren's long irritting eczema rash is finally FINAlLY gone. The last visit to the derm finally yeilded some extremely expensive ($98 for TWO FREAKING TUBES after my insurance!! Socialized medicine here I come!!), but highly effective creams that did the trick in few days. Its made a big difference in his mood, which I can't blame him. If I was itchy and rashy I'd be crabby too.

Now if I can only find out how to stop Monday from comming. I really don't want to go back to work. Weekdays are too slow, and weekends are way too fast.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Governator Schwartzenegger - how can a head that big be that dense!!
Thankful For: My son didn't inherit my phobia of deep water.
Music of the mind: : Dolly Parton's "9 to 5" .... hmmm wonder why?

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads