Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Life with Warren.

Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004 @ 10:18 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

You are an Existential Thinker

Existential thinkers:
~ Like to spend time thinking about philosophical issues such as "What is the meaning of life?"
~ Try to see beyond the 'here and now', and understand deeper meanings
~ Consider moral and ethical implications of problems as well as practical solutions

Other Existential Thinkers include:
The Buddha, Gandhi, Plato, Socrates, Martin Luther King
Careers which suit Existential Thinkers include: Philosopher, Religious leader, Head of state, Artist, Writer At least I am in good company. This also probably explains alot. To find out what kind of thinker you are, take the quiz found here

Conversations with my son

In the middle of talking about someting, I mentioned to my son that I did have a life before I became a mom. His response to my revelation......

Yeah but not a very good one
How can I not love a kid with my kind of sense of humor. I had a much needed laugh at that one. It zinged but that's okay, I give as good as I get. Its our way, some people wouldn't understand, but that is their problem.

Last night, was another one of those nights where I would have loved to trade in my mother card if only for a couple of hours. Warren had another melt down about that stupid cd. This time it was a mini melt down and he got over it, but he still didnt' want to put effort into his homework. I could tell he was tired, I don't think he has been sleeping well lately, and I know his rash is bugging him again. (time to look for different soaps and do more detective work to find out what he is allergic to). He ended up not finishing his homework again. I know he tries to get up in the mornign to do it. He sets his alarm and has the intention of doing it, but when AM comes his body doesn't want to cooperate. So the last two days he hasn't had his homework done for school, which has made for some harder days and lost points, which makes him grouchier at night and its vicious circle. But I am getting off topic.

Last night while I was up to my armpits in spaghetti and meatballs (I make my own), I had meat cooking and the can opener whirring with the tv going. I hear my son's voice comming from the living room.. At first I thought I was hearing things, then I realized I wasn't imaginging things.

MOM, what's AIDS?
SCREEECH!!! That threw me back awhile. I mean Warren and I have talked about sex, he's known where babies come from for years, we've talked about how some people fall in love with the opposite sex adn some people fall in love with people of the same sex (which is a tough issue because his dad is also a raging homophobe.. UGH, I can't wait to see what happens if his son decides to get an earing, that alone would be worth saying yes), but we never really talked about much else. Needless to say I was totally unprepared. ( I remember doing somethign similiar to my mom around that age, (asking what premarital sex was) but my mom's response was she didn't want to talk about it, and I shouldn't ask.. talk about the wrong thing to say). I think I gave him some brief scientific information (just the facts ma'am), and went into the kitchen to try and regroup my formerly semi-organized thoughts). Thank the Maker he was happy with that. Motherhood is definatly not for wimps.

Tonight started out like it was going to be another one of those nights, as he yet again threw a fit about that cd (what the hell is on that cd anyway?), then had a meltdown about his day in school, and how I never do anythign for him (aside from feeding, clothing, housing, entertaining and educating him for the last ten years!!). But after a mis hit on one of the buttons of the camcorder, lead us to watch much of what we have recorded he seemed to change a bit. After supper he was much more willing to try and work on his homework, he didn't complain at all about his meds, and he actually wrote and did his math all on his own. My son did his math homework all by himself!!!I could cheer. He has the word problems left but needs help with reading those. Then after bath and lotion etc.. we snuggled in his bed and finally had that long talk.. As tough as he likes to act during the day, at night he is still mommy's boy. I actually think our talk went well, though talking about AIDs and safe sex was not a conversation I expected to have with a ten year old, it went suprisingly well considering there was much that I know he wasn't ready for yet. (I mean he's not going to start dating until he is 30 right? Well I can dream can't I?). On the brightside, he's said more than once that his dad and I did things wrong. We shouldn't have had kids. Break my heart, with a double edged sword. He's right that Mike and I were a really bad idea for a couple, but if I hadn't went through that I wouldn't have him and I can't imagine my life without him.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Customers who call in and just start giving me an order before I know who they are or anything
Thankful For: My son did his own math homework
Music of the mind: : LIttle things mean alot

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads