Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Tales of a 4th Grade Walter Mitty

Monday, Jan. 05, 2004 @ 10:59 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Warren had a great day back at school. He wasn't thrilled to be going back, but at least he had a great day. Not as great as the Christmas vacation we supposedly had in Seattle. What you don't remember reading about us having a Christmas vacation in Seattle, perhaps that's because my son has decided that the fictional character he most wants to emulate is Walter Mitty. We never went anywhere for Christmas, but my son, the storyteller was spinning yarn after yarn about how we had an exciting vacation in Seattle visiting friends and seeing all the sites.

His teachers had a hunch he was making tales, as he is quite the storyteller but when I talked to them I confirmed as much. I usually know when he is telling the truth and when he is making stories but sometimes he is so good its hard to tell. No matter how much I talk to him about "crying wolf" and telling tales he still does it

. Too bad he doesn't like to write things, the kid has a great future as a writer/storyteller. A trait he definately gets from me and my dad, who is well known (or rather was) well known for his ability to spin a yarn, except that my dad only told true stories, unless he told you otherwise.

If any one has any suggestions on how to curb his story telling without curbing his vivid and wonderful imagination (the result of limited TV and lots of books being read to him from a very early age) I would love to hear them. Usually I tell him that its a great story, and I love his imagination, to let him know its great he can spin tales but that I know he is making it up.

In other news I came in to some great money today. Well actually it was my money to begin with I just finally recieved it back. To put it in a nutshell about 4 years ago I did something kind of dumb and G-ate-way Chevrolet took advantage of me and kept money they shouldn't have. I didn't really have the ability to fight it, but today they finally got it togetether and did the right thing, either that or they finally got a manager with a sense of morality. What this means is I have a $1500 suprise in my bank account. I was beyond thrilled this morning. I payed Warrens milks for the semester and lunches thru April. The only thing that bugs me, is I get this unexpected windfall of sorts and I have to spend it all paying off bills. Just once I would like to splurge it on something, like a decent computer. I love this laptop, but it has been showing signs of terminal illness for sometime. It is something both Warren and I could really use, there are other things as well, but of course the responsible grown up in me, says pay bills, catch up on things. But my inner child says "I wanna damn computer". Maybe I can compromise and find a really good deal on a rebuilt one. I know computers fairly well, so its not like I can't fix it or add on to it if I have to, as long as it is a good one, preferably with some kind of warrenty. Sometimes being an adult really sucks.

Today was also a great day for book hunting. I came across a bundle of books all free (sometimes poverty can have advantages) I have about 10 new books, including a great craft one (that Warren wanted I have no art skills), a quilt one (not sure why I wanted it), some interesting novels, a couple great Scholastic encyclopedias for Warren and a book/disc/card kit for finding my Chakra (whatever that is). Talk about the motherlode. It almost makes up for work being a total and complete zoo. On a scale of 1-10, with ten being the busiest and 1 being dead, we were at a 15 for the better part of the day. I am not exagerating when I say that I may have handled 75 or more calls today, AND I keyed in 50 mail orders (that's two batches). I was multi tasking so fast, my computer was getting confused. I took a 20 minute lunch and two 7 minute breaks. I was ready to scream when I finally left. If I were a drinking person, I'd be on my third Long Island by now. Instead I'm destressing with Mt. Dew and chocolate chip cookies.

Just note, when you are pissed off at a company and you do something funky with your order to get even with them, you don't do squat to the people who need to know, you just piss off the employees and make the customer service even worse.

Thanks for the compliments on my layout. I think I have the kinks worked out. I *hopefully* fixed it so there are no funky spaces or black bar on the bottom to scroll. Let me know if there are anymore bugs. I know some people get a bunch of requests for cookies. I think it is probably some of the add ins I have, but I am not sure which ones. Telling it no to cookies always should hopefully get rid of the request boxes and not affect how the site looks. If that doesn't work, I'll see what else I can do.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: stupid customers
Thankful For: Extra money and free books.. I should be thrilled
Music of the mind: : Desperado... The Eagles

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads